Figure out what you're best at and go all in on that

in #life7 years ago (edited)

LRM_EXPORT_20170619_114626.jpg

This one is critical at the current stage of my life. I spent a huge amount of time studying myself. I love studying my behavior, my results and the progress I've made towards reaching my goal.

That's why I learned that all of your shortcomings and flaws are not there by accident. You can obviously take a huge chunk of your life trying to fix them but don't you think it's just not a smart move?

I mean, if you're naturally good at storytelling but at the same time you suck at math, don't you think it will be a waste of time and energy becoming good at creating complex matrices?

That what happened to me actually. At 4th grade I had D and F at math. My mom decided that's not okay and forced me to learn this stuff.

I was resisting for quite a while and indeed it was a pain in the ass but eventually I handled that and figured that by utilizing formulas I can be good at any subject that has formulas in it. I was pretty solid at algebra, physics, chemistry and whatever else was there.

Following the formula is an easy part but when the task was related to logical thinking I couldn't solve it. Even now I have the same issue which irritates me but I decide I just have to let it go and focus on what I do the best.

In my case it is writing, investing and taking amazing pictures. That's what I'm planning to stop on.

Besides I'm not telling you don't have to try new things. On the contrary, this is the only way to learn about strengths and your weaknesses.

Try as much as you can, experiment and once you find what you're actually good at, go all in on that.

I thought that sometimes what we're good at is not necessarily what we like but after you do that for some period of time, you become really involved in this and eventually your likelihood of loving this activity/work will tenfold.

But that's just my personal experience and belief. You may have different which is super awesome. Just make sure it help you in achieving whatever it is you set your mind to.

Stay hungry, patient and cool,
@dmitriybtc.

Sort:  

@dmitriybtc, I really appreciate this post. When I was growing up I already had plans for my children, and that included a traditional 4 year degree at a college.

Now when I think about my 5 children, I see that they are all very different. Their strengths are incredible, but some of their strengths do not match with my previous plans.

Thanks for reinforcing what this dad was already thinking - help my children work through their weaknesses and capitalize on their strengths!

That is one of the biggest mistakes that all of the parents do - they have plans for their children which is in itself not the best approach to raise your children.

I never understood it actually. But one day I got it. Parents basically want to feel proud that's they have raised a smart kid and then share that with other parents.

Instead of thinking what do you think your kids have to do with their life, I believe each parent has to make a deliberate decision to focus on what their kids actually want with their life. Help and navigation of defining who they are will be very much appreciated, believe me.

There's nothing better to help your kid achieve their dream, instead of forcing them to achieve your dream. That's what I believe in I guess :)

You got it man! My job as a parent is to raise responsible, kind adults who can make wise decisions and understand the consequences of those decisions. Simple, but hard to execute!

Nice, you're a great man and a great parent.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63744.49
ETH 2639.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77