A few words about democracy, or why my friend voted for Trump

in #life8 years ago

I sometimes think that democracy has undergone quite a major transformation in some countries.

Democracy came to be called not a priority of democratic ideals, whatever they were, and democracy come to be called the political power of Democrats.

But the presence of the authorities at the Democrats - there is not a sign of democracy. And because they are assured of the opposite.

And all who disagree with this power are pursuing exactly the same as at any other mode ...

And dissent is prosecuted not less strictly in a democracy than under totalitarianism.

Image source

So (I publish with the permission of my friend):

"The other day I talking with a colleague from the University of California, and I complained about the unpleasant episode of my life, when I could not get a permanent position at the research center at one of the universities of the Ivy League.

At first, the reason for this was not clear to me, but after a few years, I have learned through informal channels that it was in my politically incorrect views. In particular, some of the students told them that I condemned the "marriage" of gays in private conversations.

I brought this story to a colleague as an example of how political correctness violates freedom of expression and leads to discrimination.

To my surprise, a colleague began to explain to me that this in any case there was no act of discrimination: "Think about it - he said, - hiring a person for a permanent position, people understand that they will communicate with him throughout life, of course, they want to protect itself from exotic freaks. "

So, again: a person who believes that marriage is the exclusive prerogative of men and women in the American liberal society is treated as a freak.

In short, I voted for Trump. "

Perhaps my friend lacks tolerance, but it is his opinion and I respect his opinion.

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 18. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.38 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 18 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52438.26
ETH 2303.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.05