You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BUTTERFLY WEED / Asclepias tuberosa

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Beautiful! I love butterfly weed. They are host to monarch butterflies. My neighbor and I have a deal going. She gathers the eggs from her plants and brings them into a caterpillar tent on her patio where they continue to feed on milkweed. When the butterflies hatch, she releases them. They come to my yard and the caterpillars gobble up all the milkweed before making cocoons and becoming butterflies themselves in the wild - that is if they are not eaten by predators first!

Sort:  

I have milkweed that grows wild in all the wrong places. Must establish a patch for the butterflies.

Good idea. I have other plants nearby that the adult monarchs like to gather nectar from. Did you know that the caterpillars become bitter in taste to predators after eating the milkweed plant? I learned that only recently!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60915.02
ETH 2636.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64