You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What's Under Those Headscarves?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

When I saw the title of this post, I was a bit cautious, because around the world, the issue of Muslim women and head coverings can be a hot topic.

I'd heard both sides of the argument: one side saying that head coverings are a religious symbol, the other side saying that they're a symbol of oppression.

So, as I proceeded to read, I was curious as to what the "outcome" of this article would be. Is she going to say that head scarves are a form of religious obedience or oppression of women...or both?

When I read that, " In many cases, hijabs now have more to do with fashion than religion," I must admit I was a bit relieved.

This article might not be that divisive after all. Good.

It's good to see that, as far as I can tell, women in Indonesia are free to fully express their religous choice.

I also appreciated your definitons of the hijab, the niqab, and the burka.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63570.02
ETH 3400.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56