The Cry of an African Child

in #life7 years ago

DOLEFUL BENUE
Mother earth received me in a hurry
She sent me back a toddler as though i was never welcome
With neither remorse nor apologies
So little, yet gone
The end came before the beginning
Snatched while I suckled mums breasts
My babyish cries didnt make meaning
My tender neck,slit while i weeped over my mothers corpse
Earth sipped my blood and refused not my flesh
I was packed like sardine
Beside my mum,siblings and relatives
Who had dreams like me
Oh, if only they knew what I had to offer
The goals and aspirations died that day
I never asked to be born in such a cruel world
I was, saw a life ahead and watched it snatched while I crawled
Could it be that I was lucky?
I saw a couple of years
My brother was forced out of mothers womb
killed as he experienced the first ray of light
What is childhood like?
I looked forward to it but it never came
Tell me how it feels growing old
My fatherland denied me the privilege of knowing
On this soil, my innocent blood was spilled
On this soil it cries out
Avenge me all you who hear
Avenge me all you who care
The greatest vengeance I desire is that my little cousin and friends don't join me this soon
Save them and I shall rest.
Until then my cry shall be heard from the wilderness
Until then shall I rest.2018-01-31 17.36.59.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63455.85
ETH 2722.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58