... On Regrets

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I read somewhere, a question about my worst regret in life, and here's my reply.


I don't really think I've had the greatest disappointment in life yet, as I'm not really one for regrets, but there's something which happened five years ago, which I wished I took charge of immediately.

image Source

I was in love, and I didn't know how, but somehow, I lost relevance in his life. Life has taught me that relevance is not always noticeable or appreciated, but then, it felt like I was useless.

We broke up.

It was my first confrontation with depression, funny enough he was the one who diagnosed me.

While I was mourning, my elder brother told me two things.

  • Never use him (my ex) as a standard. He said this because I told him that I worried that I would never find someone like him again. He said: there is no standard for everyone. Everyone comes with his or her own standard. (something like that)

  • Work on yourself, and forget him, so that if he sees you in five years time, he'd know he missed something.
    This second point is my regret. I didn't take the advice. I didn't move on. I pined for someone, who had moved on, for so long that I didn't grow on my own. I kept looking for reasons to remain attached to him.

Huge mistake. Huge!

As I said, I'm not one for regrets. I moved on this year, and I'm loving my growth.

I only wished I began this journey five years ago.


Don't waste time dwelling in pain. Be swift in grieving and savor your pleasure. Give no place to regrets but learn from everything.

Life is too short for many things. Life is too long for many things.

Sort:  

Lesson of life for me. Prepare for the next better...I think they are better than I...prepare for obeying God's rules. Very good post.

This post has been resteemed to 5000+ active steem accounts by @aaa-resteem
Do you want to get your posts resteemed???
Include aaa-resteem as one of your tag and you must have followed @aaa-resteem

Cheers!!!

Notice: We Resteem Valuable Contents ✌️✌️✌️But Ignore Poor And Copied Contents 💪💪💪

Wow. Great post.
I guess it's time for me to move on too. Thank you for that eye opener.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67905.30
ETH 2637.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67