MEDICATION? I CAN SMILE AGIAN.

in #life7 years ago

0911182A-1937-45CF-9117-4D2CB445B61A.jpeg

I saw this illustration and was (again) reminded of the constant protest of how medication is not the answer to our mental health issues.

Well, let me give you a little insight to why I will always speak in favour of medication for mental health (when it's necessary).

I've had two occasions in my life when someone very close to me was very, very unwell with mental health. The kind of 'unwell' that nothing BUT medication could help them. Now let's say during one of those occasions, they would rather end their life in place of medication? Because that's where they where headed had they not received medication.

So, yes medication helped them function, it helped them smile. It didn’t fabricate them, numb them or create a false person. It actually HELPED THEM TO BE MORE THEM SELF!

So maybe for some mental health conditions therapy alone can help, and I will advocate for that, but if I feel that for other mental health conditions that medication is needed, then I will also advocate that.

The point is that you cannot disregard one method of help for another based on your personal experience of mental health.
If you have never felt that there was no way out of the darkness, no hope or no help then you can never comprehend the salvation that comes in the form of a little pill.

For some of us, it has saved us or people very close to us.

My partner takes their tablets everyday, without shame and I'm grateful that they know what it is like to live again. All because of medication.💊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60030.46
ETH 2413.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43