Fed To Size

in #life6 years ago

FED TO SIZE is an allegorical poem narrated by a goat about to slaughtered by his master. The goat, at this point is finally disillusioned as he realizes that all the love shown him, in food and shelter, was merely so he can attain consumable size. He weeps for others like him...


It glints in the sunlight
And redirects a wave of light
Against my trapped eyes.
I watch it,
Hoping my tears will fall
But they don't.
I should have known all along right?
Why else would they feed me
So generously and benevolently.

It cuts through the air.
The air bleeds right before my scared eyes.
In that brief moment,
I think of my mother.
I see her, sobbing quietly
Watching from a distance
With blood streaming down her eyes.
My brothers create a waterfall of tears.
I refuse to respond to their pity.
Why should they feel that much commiseration
For me, when the same fate awaited them
At the hand of this master who
Epitomizes the "give-right and take-left" nature
Of the devil himself.
I close my eyes
Feeling my urine wet the earth
And stain my legs.

It smiles a deathly smile
Then kisses my throat.
A short kiss of painless greed.
I hear my flesh parting.
I hear my bones cracking.
I hear my blood gushing out.
I hear my breath escaping.
I see the sun darkening.
I see my blood congealing
On the cold floor.
I see my hands and feet blackening
From starvation.
I see the hangman
Coming to harvest my ill-fated soul.
I take one last look at my master
Busily cutting me into sorry pieces.
I sigh my last
Then feel sorry -
Not for myself,
But for others like me;
Fed to size, who in delusion,
Dream dreams instead of nightmares,
Not knowing they are meat
For a mad man's meal.
Time ceases to exist
And i pass into nothingness;
Wishing I was never born.

IMG_20180208_001133.jpg
image source


Sometimes, the people we trust most, are like these masters. They feed us to size,,,,,then......

#Wolfgang
#NovelMan

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63252.23
ETH 3035.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73