A Little Throwback Of An Old Character Design Contest Entry

in #life6 years ago (edited)


Here is an old piece of art I made while I was still relatively new with Steemit. Back then drawing or art contests are sprouting left and right and I could hardly keep up with them. I do not even recall the name of the contest to which I submitted this entry. Looking at it I can tell that the challenge is to use what colors the organizer had set and make a character.

Geez, these colors look awful to me no offense I think these were chosen with the intention of testing our creativity. Can you create something good out the colors that you do not normally choose when creating a character? Artists well most of them get affected by their mood, emotion, and what not and throwing in some difficult colors to work with would send me out the door. I am glad I stick with it and was proud of this creation. I was a newbie I did not know what was happening here perhaps I miss some requirements or forgot to upload this photo on the right thread I do not know. Perhaps this was not even noticed by whoever is judging. That was part of the experience and I learned from it.

I think this piece deserves a throwback. I could not start to think about the number of hours or minutes I spent in completing this art because right now I am not confident enough if I can dedicate that amount of time into something that I would create. Well, I am speaking in the now. Maybe next time I am more confident and more inspired.

Thank you friends for being there always. It was a good steemit journey after all.


This is another version of the character but I took a different turn and decided to shelve it . What do you think guys? Which is better? This one or the one above? Write your comments below.

Sort:  

This post was spotted by @theluvbug and has received a 100% upvote and/or a resteem.
If you would like to possibly receive future support from @theluvbug
then please make use of the #theluvbug tag.

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of AWESOME Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

PHC-Footer-05.gif

What a great juxtaposition in that character
The smiling innocent looking face of a harmless creature
Carrying those murderous blades
I think there's that bit more in the c1st
Shame you didn't enter, but thanks for sharing
And keep up the great work - I'm now following to see more of it

Thank you. I also noticed that innocent face carrying deadly weapons maybe I was trying to balance it back then. I felt the same way I should have used the first one. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62261.29
ETH 2614.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56