You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Innocence We Lost: Do You Remember?

in #life7 years ago

First, you had me when you started with a Cat Valente quote. She's amazing.

As to the post itself, while it is very well written, we must have had very different childhoods. I can honestly say, in my mid forties, that every decade has been better than the previous. With the first two decades being outright terrible, despite being born to loving parents who are wonderful people.

John Hodgman says nostalgia is a toxic impulse, and I tend to agree. People paint the past in gaudy colors, forgetting the bad. Which can be nice. But can also lead to people longing for a past that never was, and trying to go back to it - and sometimes trying to bring society back to it.

Also? A rainbow is totally still a magic trick in the sky.

Sort:  

Haha. I still think so too! I mean those colors are so pretty.

My past wasn't all good, remember these are the days when I was still a wee little thing. There was of course bad intertwined with the good, but because of my childish ignorance, I had no idea what "the bad" was. Sometimes I like to think that it'll be cool to never know what bad or good is. To just simply be.

Thank you for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58715.10
ETH 2588.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44