MOANA, MY GRANDMOTHER AND ME

in #life7 years ago (edited)

She passed away seven days before Christmas. I came home anyway for her funeral…

MOANA. I love this movie. It is not because Moana’s hairs and mine are alike or the villagers with tattoos look like my tribe (Dayak), but some parts in this movie reminds me of my grandmother, the one who took care of lil’ me while my mom was working.

This movie tells how Moana’s grandmother was dying right after showing their ancestor’s secret. She encouraged her to sail beyond the reef and returning the heart of Te Fiti to save the ocean and islands whilst Moana’s father disagreed.

People might think, Moana is just a cartoon from Disney but for me, it reminds me of my grandmother. Nenek, this what i called my grandmother, she passed away seven days before Christmas. When my grandmother gone, it was felt like I just made seven steps away from home yet so far from my dreams. I went away for studying. My greatest desire was to make my family proud of having me: I would make a good change in my life, even though I always get bullied from people who thought that a daughter of poor widow like me won’t be anything. I used to value all the efforts, sweats and tears my mom and grandmother did for me.

It is been 8 years. Two days before she’s gone, she called me and i replied that I was not sure I would go home for Christmas. It become my biggest regret, if only I knew she was so sick and dying for my coming back, I would say I AM COMING BACK!

I came home anyway for her funeral and found out she left a case for me. She bought me cookies and some candy so I could invite all my friends to come along and celebrate christmas at home. No Christmas for this year.

Since the day, as I saw her eyes for the last time (She accompanied me to the door before I jumped into the bus that brings me to the city), I decide to be happy and keep strong no matter what life gives me as the way those all good memories of her remained in my life.

Thousands days after she became an invisible one who took a place that far away yet so close to my soul where she loves me from.

connect-with-me-1.jpg

Follow me on instagram
@diannafirefly

or visit and like my Facebook Fans Page
N. Diana

or subscribe my YouTube Channel
N. Diana

Sort:  

oh....I am very regret on your feelings, you are very talented one, very nice post.

thank you Kunani, how are you?

Hi dear, am well and you?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58169.95
ETH 3145.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38