Facing a Health Challenge

in #life7 years ago

15400950_835312466572451_9148107993250500874_n.jpg

I made a decision about the current state of my health since the first day of 2018. I decided to only eat what would benefit my body. I have to heal my fatty liver. Sugar and carbs were the first to go and I'll tell you the die off period was brutal as it accompanied a rather severe respiratory infection. I struggled through for seven days with very little energy and using every alternative method I knew to combat the inflammation in my body. I made a throat coat tea and added ginger and garlic, lemons and honey and boiled it on the stove and drank from it at intervals. I infused essential oils continuously. I sipped a paleo inspired turkey soup and I drank a lot of lemon infused water. At one pointed, I considered calling an ambulance to transport me to the ER as breathing became so difficult. I was rather shocked to have become so ill as I hadn't had a cold in a year. I have chronic bronchial asthma but it was well under control. After the 7th day, the copious amounts of mucous subsided and I began to feel human again. My cravings had subsided from not eating sugar and I was down seven pounds in seven days. This was going to be great for my fatty liver and I wanted to make sure that my new eating pattern was sustainable. We are more than halfway through January and this is the longest I have maintained a resolution. I think it takes getting really, really ill to make the commitment to good health.
I fortify my liver with sunflower lecithin which I put in the blender with my coffee and some coconut oil and create a frothy latte..bullet proof as they say. My skin has taken on a healthier glow, the inflammation is lessened, I have renewed energy, my body is reshaping and I feel good about being good to myself. It's now or never for me. At April's end I will turn 64 and I don't want to dwell in heart attack territory. I think the biggest switch I made was preparing my lunches for work instead of going to the fast food place up the road. This of course has benefited my pocketbook as well. I am buying fresh organic produce and meat. I am not by nature a very big meat eater. I enjoy Thai food. For the exercise component, I have a very energetic pug who makes sure I get out and about and I have sixteen steps to my apartment. I am within walking distance to everything I need so I do not use my car when I am in town. My next step will be to join aquafit once again or a yoga class to begin to strengthen my core again. I know I have lost muscle mass with this illness and I am determined to get it back again. One activity I really enjoy is snowshoeing and I am surrounded by scenic walking trails. I have all the tools I need at hand to enjoy good health but I had to get to that mindset. It didn't take much to persuade myself that I want to enjoy the rest of my life with an abundance of energy and wellness. Six little grand kiddies rely on me for that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.06
ETH 2551.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65