What do you do when your boss makes you wait pointlessly? O.O

in #life7 years ago

Hello fellows, what do you do when your boss makes you wait pointlessly?

It's a hot Tuesday afternoon in small town somewhere in South East Asia, my boss has scheduled a meeting with me to speak about a project we are currently working on. She was updated yesterday, but she is the kinda lady that needs a daily updated, she is extremely clingy. Thinking about it positively, she just wants to always feel like she has everything at her fingertips, or maybe she just always want to seem busy. She loves organising meetings, and her meetings are usually just a get-together to organise other meetings.

So I've been sitting in the meeting room for 2 hours now. Through the door, i could see her walking around the office, moving piles of paper from tables to tables, photocopying papers, filling up her cup, talking to her other employees about complete random stuff. She knows i am waiting for her because every once in awhile she will give me a look that says 'I am kinda busy right now, gimme a minute alright', smile and a little nod. I guess the thought of having someone wait for her makes her feel kinda good, i don't know.. what kinda human being does this?

For the 1st hour of the wait, I took out my laptop, googled some stuff, went on Pinterest and read some news about North Korea, the dip for Bitcoin and other stuff. The subsequent hour, i was suffering from intense time illusion. I checked the time on my apple watch, 'TUE 5 12:53'... alright i thought i should be a little more productive, maybe i should get some work done, or read more news. I went on google news, clicked on the - most popular 'How to' Searches on Google- , i tried to focus but i got distracted by her chattering sound from the office, she looked like she was having some good fun chatting with her partners. Why are you not seeing me yet?! I checked the time again 'TUE 5 12:55'... I think i should start peeling the callus off my toes -.-

A trillion light years later, it is finally 13:52 now. She just sat down on her table and begun talking to a contractor that just rocked in to the office. Oh Well, this is gonna take a while. As the lifelong wait continues, I thought of Steemit and you fellow people that might be feeling bored, unproductive and completely fed up right now, and thus i wrote this post.

So guys, have you guys had similar encounters?

Sort:  

Instead of waiting for her you should get up and do some work. The company is paying you and you're on Pinterest and reading news about North Korea. I'd say she's testing you to see if you're a productive member of the company or a parasitic employee who just does enough to get by.

From what I can see, you're the parasitic employee. I'd expect that you won't last long in the job that you have and that you'll be one of the first people to get laid off or fired when the time comes.

Hello @bedsolution, please don't get me wrong. My work is an on site job in a construction site, monitoring and supervising site progress. I have to be on site to get my work done, so whenever i come into the office, its strictly just to meet up with her to update stuff. Not that I don't like being productive

Hello steemian
I am here to help show your blog to more people by resteeming your post
Your post was picked from the feeds, as part of the advertisment campaign for @steempowerbot
@steempowerbot is meant to help minnows get noticed by re-steeming their posts

To use the bot, one must be following us, and then make a transaction where the memo is the url of the post.

We are offering #free resteem service now.
For us to see your post use the tag #blessaminnowtoday
You can help us spread the word

Congratulations @dianasaur! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @dianasaur! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57659.68
ETH 2443.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36