The Lies of the Big Screen

in #life7 years ago (edited)

257899_10150227269098711_2526985_o.jpg

It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.
― Aristotle

I always remind myself of this quote whenever I struggle with accepting an idea into my head. Should I believe this shit? It is quite hard especially when our environment molded us to believe certain things about ourselves and others. Repeated lies can become the truth. But we have the choice to believe or question things. We have the choice to accept an idea as true to ourselves.

There is this famous actress who is known as 'this actress' instead of 'actress'. There is nothing she can do if people like to label her that way. She finally resigned to this quote - ignore the ignorant.

But aren't we all ignorant? The truth is we are all ignorant of each other. We can never really fully understand each other. We cannot extract each other's thoughts. We only have these little ideas about other people that have been fed to us since the beginning. Why do we have to care about knowing others if there's the big screen that would dictate how we should see them?

Who controls the big screen controls who would be the hero and the villain in this world. It is funny that if you try to watch the movies of other countries, you would see the white people as the villains. The ones who burn the villages, rape the girls and steal the treasures. If you watch the Hollywood movies, you would see the typical portrayal of other people. Latinos' smuggling drugs, black people committing crimes and Asian people managing the stores. I will just aggressively roll my eyes with the predictability of all these movies. Just because I let myself be entertained does not mean I should accept these ideas being injected into my head. Otherwise, I would no longer trust people, everyone's a villain after all.

We can choose not to patronize the media but that would be very hard especially if these ideas are being shoved down our throats. It seems that the big screen controls who are the top dogs and inferior beings in this world. This is how the environment shapes us. It is the whole conditioning of the society. Don't wonder anymore why there are some people who have this natural optimistic tendency, those who are predestined to success. Don't wonder why there are some people who have every reason to be angry and insecure, those who suffered injustice. Just as the big screen taught us how to feel good, it also taught others how to feel bad. But let's just thank other people for feeling bad so we can feel better about ourselves.

What do we really know about being other people? And what do other people know about being us? We have no idea that is why it is hard for us to see through people. Unknowingly, we base our perceptions on what the big screen tells us. Let's face it - boxing people into these ideas is our comfort zone. And we all know that it is hard to get out of the comfort zone. Treating everyone as individuals is the hardest part. Generalization is easier because it takes a lot of energy to differentiate each other. Anyway, the big screen already tells us everything we need to know about other people, why bother?

The big screen taught us about our lives and the lives of other people. It tells us what is normal or what is standard in this life. It taught us what is happiness, success, and beauty. Have a deep check who are the heroes in the international movies? Now, whenever there's someone different walking down the street there's this red warning or trigger alert in our brains. This person is a villain based on the movies. We travel to other countries and demand what is normal based on the big screen. Because we are the heroes. But have we really come down to this level of ignorance?

In the real world, the movie is not all about us. Why does everything have to be about us? Why does it offend us when someone does not think highly of us? The big screen taught us this self-entitlement because we are not used to being the villains. So when someone exposes the uncomfortable truth, we get defensive. We defend this idea about ourselves. Acknowledge that there are other movies and we are not the heroes in there. To claim that we don't need to watch other movies is just part of that 'feeling special' attitude. To demand that we should be the heroes in other movies is just part of that rock-star complex. To claim that we no longer need to travel and learn other languages are also part of that sense of entitlement. Whether we like it or not, people see us differently. We might not like how they see us but that is just beyond our control. The truth is, there are so many things we really don't know that are hidden from us. There are so many things we need to learn. But it is easier to succumb to the comfort of ignorance these days. It is easier not to talk about uncomfortable topics. It is easier not to learn new things.

I remember when I broke down and cried, I got so tired of traveling at some point. Adventures can be painful. I was talking to my friend through messenger as I tried to look for someone who could comfort me and understand my pain. He said: either you go home or accept that everyone is bad. But that is not what I have been taught - there are good people in this world. He asked me, would it make you feel better if you just lower your expectations and not be surprised anymore if people are bad? You cannot change things. Now just treat it as a bonus if you meet someone 'different'.

Their ignorance is not our fault. Our ignorance is not their fault. I always think this way whenever people don't go with how I desire them to be. How I desire them to be is just an illusion. The big screen is just an illusion. Rather than the 'feel good' lies, give me the painful truth. Acknowledge what needs to be acknowledged.

Unlearn, learn, repeat.

Can we still sit back, relax and enjoy the movie? Yes, we can, but it is up to us to bulletproof our ideas. It is up to us to not get the lies into our heads. But it might take a lot of painful adventures before we get there.

The more I read, the more I acquire, the more certain I am that I know nothing.
― Voltaire

Sort:  

Spot on! Very true observations. How can we expect others to think like us, as a boy (and many people alike) I constantly wondered if people thought like me. Liked my this, the way I did that. Now I realise probably not but more importantly that it does not matter what others think I am thinking it. And the Aristotle quote is incredible! Describing it to a tee for me something I can really focus on!
I have cut out media (mainstream) and my life feels so much better I am more relaxed more sure on my thought an ideas. Also more confident that I am 100% right for me! I think you are always right for yourself sometimes though you have to compromise when around others because we are all having different thoughts see things differently! Sometimes not and thats a bonus. Ah so thought provoking could ramble for ages but need to get ready for work! 💯🐒

I'm glad you like the quote. We cannot really control what people think about us - no matter how hard we try to be pleasing and agreeable to others. It is liberating to be ourselves in this day and age when everyone is demanding us to be something else...As long as there are no animals harmed, we are fine. 😎

Right on! I wish more people saw things like this, how more relaxed would the world feel 💯🐒

I must say that I love it when you venture into philosophy! If I thought it would make any difference I'd say get some diabolika into the academies but we all know by now that that would just enslave you to a lifetime of debt and you'd come out denying the existence of 'Tallomite!'...No fun at ​all:)
What's interesting about your post from the Gnostic perspective: the screen is a micro projection of a greater reality which is preexistent to humanity; that humanity from the perspective of the screen makers​ is not much different​ from a virus in that it is what it is, a virus can't help its condition and neither​ can humanity. There is one huge difference​ though: the virus can only exist here and that is not the case for the spirit which resides deep within the human animal--we have the potential to become tall! The rub though is that becoming tall in a sewer isn't of much use...We can exist far beyond the sewers​ of this world if we become aware of the reality of Tallomite:)
And yes, it's totally okay if you don't agree with assessments of our condition made in this post. The screen predetermines everything anyway: the Alpha is the Omega:)

Thanks bestest. Not denying the existence of 'Tallomites' at all..I hope they acknowledge my acknowledgement of their existence... Although literally, I want to be tall haha. But I love me for me being me just diabolic in some ways lol. It can be fun to recruit future diabolikas in the diabolika academy hey. But can we just have fun in all this ridiculousness, life is too short lol. Wait, I'll watch a movie now....

Yeah, well said.
Like most of the movies depict every Muslim with beard is terrorist...

I know what you mean. I wonder how other people are depicted in other movies now lol.

Americans are depicted as bad guys in every movies in our part of the world...
Like all Americans are diabolical...lol
I think whether we chose not to believe what big screen wants us to believe but still there is passive learning going on in our subconscious mind.

I've seen the movies in both worlds lol.

there is passive learning going on in our subconscious mind.

True.

I learned about you from the post of @kamchore and I am really glad to read your thoughts...
Its a pleasure reading your blog.

Awww thank you! @kamchore always comments on my posts.

Are we not all imbued with both good and evil? Our choice is how often we let each rise to rule our actions and decisions.

Regarding other people's perspective, as you say, we can allow the point of view projected by others to become ours. We can simply employ stereotypes to explain all that we cannot see, experience, or verify. It's the easy, ignorant way out.

Always amazed with the subject matter and cutting narrative of your posts! You ought to make a movie... 😛

Great insight! I think I'm already a movie here on Steemit lol.

Thank you for this wonderful post @diabolika. It has given me inspiration to make a post of my own in which I have linked back to you.

It takes a strong and open mind to not reject another person's opinion or belief. There is no requisite that you adopt their attitude, but I find it quite interesting where people are on their journey and what ideas they have anchored their selves to. It gives me great insight into my own being and sometimes offers me a mid-course correction.

Thanks, I appreciate the link back to me! Sometimes I write about topics that might not be easy to inject by others...I'm glad to know that there are people can read my posts with open-mind.

I'm sorry I haven't checked out your posts yet. I will soon!

No sweat. I only got it posted a minute ago. Here's an easy link if you're interested.

I think that back-linking to inspirational posts might be better than resteeming. I seldom read resteems, but I often read posts by the people I follow. I'm going to do this more often and see how it goes. Thanks for the opportunity.

I never resteem but I like back-linking and mentioning others in my posts. I think it's better! Ok following you back now. I lost track of who to follow back these days...I make sure to follow back those who commented many times on my posts.

lies exist in the same way as truth exist. Big screen glamorize things according to the taste of people, in doing so first they win the people heart, afterwards they become influential and start the tactics which suits them. Yes we are all ignorant people. But some time ignorance become bliss. Because sometimes it is better for you if you do not know all the facts. The best way to cope with illusion is just little thinking before making your mind.
Thanks @xabi (my best friend) for joining the party. I am glad to introduce you with amazing blogger @diabolika you will find her post very beneficial.

Oh yes, true - ignorance is bliss. What we don't know won't hurt us!

Awww thanks that you think my posts are beneficial lol. I'm happy to meet your best friend!

off course there are words of wisdom in your post that's why i follow you. @xabi he is a great guy. you will like his creativity. All the best cheers.

The great thing is free our souls from people chain and what we see it better for us not for 'em

Wonderful story keep sharing that

wonderful story. thx for sharing ♥ keep going

@diabolika wow nice your photography.ture good sir

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63966.12
ETH 2753.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66