Pride and Inequality

in #life6 years ago (edited)

My friend was telling me that I have become grumpy and I realized that it might be true. I guess I was a bit different before I decided to travel. I used to be cheerful, happy-go-lucky and funny - until I learned to take things seriously. If this is what it means to be awake then I feel like a part of me wants to just sleep...but perhaps I can attribute my overall change of attitude to traveling as well. What you have seen will always be there...but learn to let it go, my friend advised me. But no wonder why there are many people who choose to remain in their comfort zone instead. Isn't that what people are after - to be happy and comfortable? Because it seems that what you don't know won't hurt you could really be true.

I traveled and lived in countries where there's high inequality, including my own. I've seen cops running after someone in broad daylight and people just treat it like a normal scene. I know that one could pay someone cheaply in order to kill someone. There are regular extrajudicial killings and all that. But that's just the whole retribution cycle. But then why do poor people resort to crimes and murders? People blame them for their lack of education, self-esteem, social skills, and moral values. But ignorance and lack of education just come as a natural result of inequality. This generalization only portrays the Malthusian - produce more misery to gain superiority. These people are the way they are because they have no opportunities to be any different. And it was reinforced everytime they tried. It is just the lack of choice. The law of attraction and power of positive thinking and all that self-help books won't work here. Most of them are in a difficult situation that was brought upon them. I guess it is easier to pinpoint their flaws when you don't know the whole story behind.

Don't forget that the powerful nations perpetuate inequality against other nations by stealing resources, land-grabbing, implementing a global system of domination and passing unreasonable laws. And the majority of their population still have no idea that the promise of democracy to these countries was nothing but a trap. And they are still blind to how the government is shitting on other countries - it is actually the other way around. And here you are wondering why there is so much hatred around the world. And why some people trust the cops to protect them while the poor don't trust the authority. If you can't travel to know the truth, you are at least free to do some critical thinking right in the comfort of your home.

It is no longer surprising to me that poverty correlates to violence. Think of a man who is supposedly the provider, the one who brings home the bacon, is surrounded by a shameless display of inequality and do not have access to all the basic necessities of life. Where else could he get his status when the society strips him of the usual markers of rank - having a good job and being able to support his family? A rich man has everything to lose while a poor man turns to violence with nothing more to lose. And here you are wondering why the poor have become radicalized throughout the world.

It could just be a matter of pride and the exertion of power. Some people's self-respect is not threatened because they have other means to get their status from, like job, money, and nationality. What about those who have nothing but self-respect to defend? You'll see that some people kill just because they have been dissed. This really happens especially to those who only get their status and power through violence. If your social reputation on this level is all you've got, then you've got to defend it. When there's high inequality and you are on the losing end, then the only thing you might have is pride. Pride becomes a matter of life and death.

You only wish the society does not emphasize money as the only indication of self-worth. You are taught to worship rich celebrities, follow their footsteps and do self-improvement to death. The big screen and cultural values taught you to develop this huge sense of entitlement. And that you are trained to emulate the rich and powerful.

If there are no opportunities for status, personal advancement, and respect - some people have no choice but to find other ways to pursue those things. If others visibly bask in their wealth, those who are way far from the top would become desperate. Unfortunately, these issues of respect seem to affect men more, though not all. But anywhere you go, no one is immune.

Sort:  

I am a bit "grumpier" too. Once you learn certain things there is no unlearning. You can't unsee the truth once it is seen. The innocence of our youth is just that - the innocence of our youth. Now there is the power and responsibility of our knowledge... that is a good place to be too, albeit a bit grumpier. Thanks!

I find myself forcing myself to the innocence of my youth sometimes.. but like you said

. The innocence of our youth is just that - the innocence of our youth

I'll take my grumpier self and it's up to people to accept me just like that.

There is maturity in that decision.

What you're talking about is a big reason reason I identify myself as a "superfluous man"; I think it's almost necessary in a world to embrace being superfluousness in order to retain some humanity when the humane life is not respected around you, where inequality and the simple minded pursuit of materialism is rampant.

I like your name 'superflousman' actually.

simple minded pursuit of materialism is rampant.

The challenge of this modern world.

you are absolutely right inequality, poverty do a great damage in society. lack of opportunities also enhanced the problem if you have no option to earn money you will definitely look some wrong deeds like theft or extortion to remove your hungert. yes it's really easy to point a finger on other. Exactly nations are doing the same tactics they want to gain all the resources of other country by hooks or crooks. poverty definitely correlates with violence. nice post close to reality @diabolika

Thanks for the insight @kamchore.

yeh you are pointing a big issue are we can say the main issue of life.and i am dam agree with you inequality is a main social problem.as much as inequality level will increase whether in between people of the house, people of the country or between two countries the crime and social problem will increase day by day.no one will thing why the poor man is stealing things and why the rich main wasting his extra food in a bin.

(A rich man has everything to lose while a poor man turns to violence with nothing more to lose. And here you are wondering why the poor have become radicalized throughout the world.)

i like these lines.and yeh direction of our society feeling of pride to become a rich is ruining the life of people.and following other blindly is not good

These are great points @diabolika.
I think about this fairly often, but never from that angle.
Thank you!

I began and erased several attempts at a response to your post. I really had to think about this post and all that it conveys.

I have been to a few places that represent the environment you speak of, but not with the duration or frequency needed to truly understand it.

For those who have, there is a built-in proclivity to diminish or ignore those whom do not. For if we acknowledge them, we are then compelled to do something about it. And this places our own status at risk.

That was a great read. Travel can gives us lots of insight especially when we're travelling to a poor country. It makes us realized how we've been taking life for granted and there are lots of people whom have less than what we have but still keep on living to the fullest. Inequality is a big topic. People often said worried less about inequality and look out more for an opportunity but inequality is the key for losing opportunity. Realistically, no one in this world is being provided with the same judgement, opportunity with the others. It's a sad fact but its the truth. Kudos for the article.

Unless you are able to isolate yourself from the "advanced" world, it's a challenge to separate yourself from the expectations and money-centric mentality of it. We are a very material society, but all that does is make us more miserable.. Trying to "Keep up with the Joneses". It becomes a never ending cycle of trying to earn more and more in competition with those who have more than you do as opposed to bring happy where you are and enjoying what you have while you have it.

There's actually a very high inequality in the so-called "advanced world", that's where it came from...

Completely 😐😔

i don't think the problem will go when we will be isolated with the advanced world...
Actually, I think the society will be advanced in their own way. But those who are not will have those problems for being from another world......
And we have to set our mind "don't care" "doesn't matter" position....

Yeh you are right inequality have a great impact on social life.if we learn about equality and stick on it our world will be just like patadise and this will finish all grief and will create peace in world so let work together for equality from our homes.and we should teach or guide our new genration that a good pride is justice and equality not a money popularity and showment.

Yes! I think being happy and joyful bring more happiness but as you say the problem in this is when people are oppressing you! But generally I have found the poorer countries I have been to the energy is better and the people are much happier in general. I see you point and am torn myself it something I am exploring myself at the moment. I know since I change my perspective my life has gone from shit to kinda peachy! But I live in a country were opportunities are there. I fascinating concept that I am exploring for my understanding of, so a mix reply I guess sorry. 💯🐒

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61588.80
ETH 3006.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64