No Apologies

in #life7 years ago (edited)

10380147_10152409579148711_2497794966996836699_o.jpg

It is human nature to seek a sense of belonging and to feel part of a group. We fear to be ostracized from our tribe so we try our best to please each other. But sometimes it can be too much, for our society has completely conditioned us to smile all the time and bend over backwards for others. As people-pleasers, we all want to maintain this image we have created for ourselves. We do not want to upset others to ensure that we are still in people's graces. We tend to reinforce a sense of subservience and guilt, and undermine ourselves. Perhaps it is time to look into ourselves and own our choices this time. We no longer have to justify our decisions and ourselves all the time.

There were many times in our lives that we have apologized too much. Although it is very admirable to apologize genuinely for our faults or for inadvertently hurting someone, there are things that we need to own and never have to apologize for.

I become highly sensitive to other people's feelings and most of the time I want to ensure that I don't cause them any pain. But deep down, I feel like I have apologized too much in the past, even for the things that I don't really have to apologize for. I don't have to apologize for the weather and for all the things that I have no control of. I don't have to apologize for the miseries of other people for I can only help so much. I don't have to apologize if others can't really help themselves. I don't have to apologize that I still become the bad person in the end, after going the extra mile to help someone else. I don't have to apologize for people's trust issues. I don't have to apologize when other people have literally done something wrong. I don't have to apologize for my lifestyle choices, for choosing to travel, for leaving some people behind and for following my heart. I don't have to apologize for removing a toxic, negative and manipulative person in my life. I don't have to apologize for choosing what is best for me. I don't have to apologize for choosing inner peace. I don't have to apologize for choosing only a few people who are more important in my life. I don't have to apologize for feeling heartbroken. I don't have to apologize for standing up for what I believe in. I don't have to apologize for laughing too hard in public. I don't have to apologize for crying. I don't have to apologize for being angry. I don't have to apologize for my quirkiness, weirdness and for not growing up. I don't have to apologize for feeling what I feel in the present moment. I don't have to apologize for speaking the truth. I don't have to apologize for removing a person in my life who is causing me not to be myself. I don't have to apologize for being real. I don't have to apologize for apologizing too much.

I don't have to apologize for being myself. In this day and age, being ourselves is the hardest thing to do, for a lot of people will not really like it, especially if we are all wired to patronize each other. Are all romantic relationships and friendships out there real? We don't really know what others truly feel sometimes. How shady this world can be, for we don't really know what others choose to reveal. Nevertheless, never apologize for the things we cannot control anymore. We cannot read other people's mind so just be whoever we want to be as long as we are not causing harm to others. It is perfectly fine to struggle as a human being.

As we grow up looking to others for the evaluation of ourselves, we were taught that we will be rewarded or punished for our behavior. So as adults, we constantly seek attention and approval from others. We even apologize for not living up to others' expectations as many of us still look into other people's eyes to find out who we really are. It can be good to see how we are from another perspective however we often we become trapped in their expectations. It is like we need to change ourselves or else be punished. We get trapped in this whole conspiracy with another - if you make me believe who I think I am then I will make you believe who you think you are.

Hurting ourselves is the same thing as hurting our loved ones. We have exposed too much of ourselves to those we trust, giving them the power to hurt us. We also have collected too much gratitude so someday it might all be thrown back to our faces, but that is just the price of belonging. But we must be free to be ourselves without having to apologize for it. We must be confident in our choices and embrace our humanity. Can we just unapologetically be ourselves and not be afraid to show our vulnerable truth?

What's one thing you don’t need to apologize for?

Sort:  

For no longer wishing to be romantically involved with a person, and for quitting a job.

Thanks for sharing!

great post and awesome pic....your right we shouldnt have to apologize for every little thing...if my friends truly knew my intentions they would know i mean no harm and sometimes my personality the in your face shock you type to sometimes shock them into being better ppl...but unfortunately they take that as being rude and arrogant...you dont need to say sorry for anything your an asset to the steemit family please write more to make us think and feel...

Thank you as always! 😊

Well said.

I don't have to apologize for being myself. In this day and age, being ourselves is the hardest thing to do, for a lot of people will not really like it, especially if we are all wired to patronize each other.

I think this is the most important thing as our integrity and sense of privacy is being attacked from every direction, even if you're no really aware of it. Being yourself, taking personal responsibility seriously, has become like taking a revolutionary position in todays world.

Being yourself, taking personal responsibility seriously, has become like taking a revolutionary position in todays world.

This is true. Thanks for the insight!

well said.
You can write well and you explained it very well.
It's such a great story. Thanks for sharing with us.

Awww thanks! 😊

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by diabolika from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 0.39 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

imagine a world of unapologetic people. ..can you in your heart of hearts truly answer that? can you live with it?

imagine a world of not feeling sorry for absolutely anything at all. can you really fathom that?

"we have exposed too much of ourselves to those we trust, giving them the power to hurt us" - but how can someone be hurt if you are not even apologetic for anything?

"we have collected too much gratitude so it might all be thrown back to our faces" - what kind of wisdom does a person have when one possesses this kind of thinking? does someone really get far to where they are now alone?

this is certainly not to disrespect you. I apologize if it may seem so, but to answer that one thing I do not need to apologize for is that

I do not apologize for feeling very sorry to all the people who think like this.

this whole thing written here comes like defense mechanism. It sounds guilty actually of hurting someone but not wanting to own up to it.

and just before I depart your posts and all your posts in the future, allow to me say this, before we incur the ire of not apologizing, make sure we never hurt anyone, not even ourselves.

People judge best when they judge others.

no apologies, no hurting. no hurting, no retaliation.

best wishes and may the universe give all your hearts desire.

Just leave her alone man. If you are indeed a friend, then just stop the attacks. Can't you see she just moved on?

Hate always outlives the hateful my friend.

Be at peace.

I am not attacking her. Man, what kind of a thinking mind is that? the word "attack" itself is counter pro active

and what hate? who hates who?

This is not at assault or attack to anyone. Please do not say such things.

I pray that she is not in the company who thinks like this because if she is then she still is with the wrong people who makes wrong assumptions or so it seems. (this is not an attack at you)

This is not to say that I am the right company tho.

And not because I looked at her posts means that I'll follow her til end of days, no.

You can be at peace maialismigrare and keep your peace.

As I have said, may the universe give everything that she needs in life, and everything that she wants.

then all her friends, former friends, and enemies, or what not, would be at peace that she is doing okay, like how good she is doing right now.

shalom

We have no reason to over evaluate things then. :) Peace. ..V

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57495.98
ETH 2320.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35