My Tarantula Adventure (Halloween Special)

in #life7 years ago (edited)

968776_10151572676883711_1009046171_n.jpg

Once upon a time, I was a tarantula freak. I had this strange hobby of collecting tarantulas back in the days to ease the stress at work, not that I was planning to throw them at my co-workers. I'm not that evil yet. I believe this story would be timely as I know most of you out there are scared of these big hairy spiders. I am here to clear their name of the bad reputation we have given them, so I hope this post would make you appreciate them, if not cuddle, and admire their unique beauty and characteristics.

Most of the tarantula species today are endangered - thanks to humans. Don't worry, I didn't really go out of my way to hunt them in the Amazon or in Central America. These are all captive-bred. These tarantulas are used to this type of environment so they don't really need to be in a big space. They just spend most of their lives like a hermit. They don't need anyone else.

In the Tarantula world, we call them by their scientific names. Above is my big baby Brachypelma Albopilosum also known as Curly Hair. Nothing is cuter than a curly hair spidy, such a fatty isn't she? To the left was when I got her, she was still this itsy bitsy spidy cutey baby. This is a beginner's tarantula, which means - not so dangerous for you. Probably a bite will just make your skin swell and the doctor might have to cut your hand, but that's about it - no drama. You won't really die so it's safer to have this pet. Just don't provoke her. She's unique, silent - complete.

If you are planning to have them as pets, remember the types of tarantulas. My Albo above is a Burrower type, which means they just like to live in an abandoned burrow, in the crevices of rocks or under a log. These are usually for beginners as they are easier to take care and are usually calmer. If you are more experienced, then you can consider having the Arboreal tarantulas. These tarantulas make their homes in silk or tube webbing which they build in trees of elevated places. You need a taller enclosure that looks like a small tree. They are jumpy so watch out handling those cheeky Ts.

I spent my time studying and loving them that they had become an important part of my life - freaky I know. They are interesting and beautiful. They are pretty much low-maintenance, they just need to be fed every three days or every week. Never make the mistake of overfeeding them just like what you do with your cats. You just need to change the enclosure as they get bigger. You cannot just put it in a big terrarium unless you want to torture them. Baby tarantulas don't need a big space yet as they will get confused. Moving them to a new enclosure can be such a pain because you want to make sure you won't get bitten.

Here's my Brachypelma Smithi also known as the Mexican Red Knee tarantula, this is what you usually see in the horror movies. Remember that velvety black and orange tarantula, yes that's it. Beautiful isn't it? This is a very cheeky one. I remember when she escaped while I was transferring her to a new enclosure. I panicked for her life. I didn't want to wake up and crush her, so I had to find her. It's a dangerous world out there for her.

Before I traveled, I sold my kids for food, so I never got the chance to see my Smithi as an adult. But if you are wondering what she would be like, then here it is:


src

It is not really advisable to handle them and I don't really think tarantulas like being handled anyway. They usually like to be left alone. But there are many tarantula enthusiasts who take pleasure in handling them because it's an adrenaline rush. Some tarantulas don't react to it - if you are very very careful.

This is my Lasiodora Parahybana also known as the Brazilian Salmon Pink Bird-Eating Tarantula. It's up to you to check what it looks like when it's big, because it's really scary. Really skittish this one and I can imagine when it's already an adult. It is nice to take care a tarantula when it's still a baby because you get to see how amazing they are as they molt their exoskeletons. They grow bigger, more beautiful and more expensive too.

They can eat crickets or the Madagascar hissing roaches. I found out that I don't get along with cockroaches and my goal is to eliminate them in this world, not breed them (I'm pretty biased). The crickets are very jumpy and I ended up crawling on the floor to put them back into the jar - pain in the back. The last option would be superworms! Superworms are disgusting too but at least they are neat. I can just put them in a small candy jar and drop some breadcrumbs there and that's it. So I got to take care both tarantulas and superworms at the same time. It's interesting to feed tarantulas with live worms as you'll see how ferocious and fast they are. Make sure your hand is out of the way during the feeding process though.


src

This is my dream tarantula, the Chromatopelma Cyaneopubescens also known as the Green Bottle Blue. I can't imagine there's a blue tarantula, which is fascinating and so beautiful for me. There are more colorful species of tarantulas out there, more dangerous and more expensive.

In real life, I could just go on and on and talk about tarantulas until you get bored. They are great pets and they don't like that much attention. So if you are busy and you don't have time for other pets, I think you should give tarantulas a chance. It might also shoo your friends away which is good if you don't want them to come to your house all the time.

I really hope that this article will change the way you see these so-called freaky creatures - I don't expect it overnight. I don't have them anymore because I have a cat now, and I don't trust them to all get along. Someday, I would probably take care tarantulas again because they are beautiful and amazing, and they too deserve some love in this world, after all, they are only tarantulas!

Sort:  

I knew there was such a thing as spider woman:D
Real life spiders don't freak me out as I was raised on Vincent Price movies, but I gotta say; if you ever come across the mechanical spiders of the subtle​ realm (mind and dreams), they will freak you out! Or at least I think they will. The lore says they are to do with Orion (Giza is shaped like Orion), and Orion sits like a spider in the sky. You can see her many nights in Vancouver skies:)

Big spiders still shock me when they appear out of nowhere in the bathroom lol. Hmmmm I'm interested in that mechanical spiders....

Deep read, I need more time for this!

BTW: the blue one is the cutest killer of the bunch:D

"I had this strange hobby of collecting tarantulas"

stopped reading there ;-)

If I had an escaped tarantula in my house I would consider burning it down....you seem to be a better person than I am :-)

How is your view on snakes?

Hahaha. I understand tarantulas are shocking and are so fast.

Hmmm, I'm not a fan of snakes. :( There are already many snakes in this world.

Yes,snakes are the worst.

In human form as well as in normal snake form :-)

Snakes are beautiful too. But I definitely agree with the human snakes are the worst.

Nice post of an interesting subject. Spider posts always get a wide range of reactions :)

I know right. I'm glad you call this a nice post lol.

Tarantulas are seemingly everyones secret little pet here lately. @lily-da-vine and @dragonanarchist just had a sweet back and forth about tarantulas. I would even bet that @dragonanarchist loves them more than you do ;) Happy you find joy in them....I'll stick with dogs though :)

Wow, I'm happy there are steemians who like Tarantulas, omg! :)

They don't look cool at all :)

I expect that reaction. :)

nice post but scary though. the spider has very poisonous venom ... don't you feel irritated?

No, I didn't get bitten or anything while handling. But I usually leave them in their enclosure, just like fish in an aquarium. Just meant to be appreciated.

I think they are irritated more.

ok, it's nice to have pets and these spiders look scary but i think you understand how to handle them. although be careful and i wish you good luck

They are only scary at the beginning due to shock factor. But they are nice and pretty. :) Thanks!

you are most welcome, you just made me beginning to like these pets. i think i will acquire one and test to see how it feels. it feels normally right? although, i followed you just in case there are complications on the way i can refer to you as experienced in this field ... lol

You can check online or your local pet shop if they are selling one, then let me know if you have questions. :)

ok, thanks for your help and understanding. i already start checking on local shops here. i will keep you updated

This post has received a 0.31 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Nice! Thanks for sharing this knowledge here with us. I didn't know about much about tarantulas before, now I really feel like an expert! Hah. Even though I was kind of afraid of them before :)

It's understandable that we are afraid of tarantulas, or at least that's how we've been conditioned to. But if you have them as pets, you'll get to appreciate their unique beauty too. :)

OMG!!!! I seriously just cannot see myself having a spider pal they just scare me so much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62924.41
ETH 2436.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52