Live Life as it Comes

in #life6 years ago (edited)

This is the number one thing that you should be grateful for every time you wake up in the morning, that you are still alive, breathing and in good health. What more can you ask for? People take simple things for granted these days as they get caught up in the humdrum and the mundane. But there are many people out there who want to go on living despite the unfortunate circumstances. Be grateful for everything you have instead of being greedy for what you don't have. Seeing the beauty of the present moment is what will make you appreciate being alive.

Last night I was crying after seeing this weepy film called Me before you. I am avoiding watching heavy drama films but this one particularly caught my interest. It's not one of those typical chick flicks. This is about this small town girl who was taking care this wealthy recently-paralyzed guy. Spoiler Alert: But at the end of the film, the guy decided to go to Switzerland to finally end his life, despite having rich and loving parents and someone who would love him unconditionally. Assisted suicide surely raises deep ethical questions so this film got mixed reviews.

It is kind of thought-provoking for me because I have never got into thoughts about Euthanasia until last night. I mean the guy was sporty and adventurous then suddenly he got into an accident that paralyzed his whole body. The critics think that the film depicts disability as kind of hopeless and that the guy should have strived to become Stephen Hawking instead.

A part of me couldn't judge that guy in the film or anyone who chooses to end their physical suffering. I myself don't know what I might decide if something really tragic happens to me. I am grateful that I'm alive and in good health and I would never wish for anything to happen to me or to anyone. I'm already thankful that I came back from my travels alive and with body intact. I had been to many beautiful places in this world. I ran in the green fields, swam underwater, avoided danger on the road, climbed mountains and I surely want to continue living my life to the fullest. When I'm older, I want to say - I had a good life. Without my able body and mind, life would never be the same for me. I love my life so much - this life. My life is always different but I don't think I could take it at this physically tragic level. I'm not like that rich guy who could afford to hire someone to take care of him, and besides, he has a lot of loving people around him. I don't want to be a huge burden to anyone. I even remember telling a friend during my younger years that I don't want to make it up to 60. Perhaps I could be strong until that age but who knows? Or maybe I would not even make it by then. Life comes with no guarantees. I could die tomorrow or later. The most important thing is that I live my life as it faces me. I will try to enjoy my life for as long as I can and not get stuck in looking ahead too much.

But I don't condone those who want to die due to depression. Like come on, be grateful that you can still walk, talk, hear and see. What's not to be happy about? Just use your senses to appreciate the beauty of this world. Seeing the beauty of this world is what will make you appreciate being alive. There are so many things to try while you are still alive and in good health. Think of all those people who want to stay alive despite the harsh conditions in life. I have traveled for a long time and I know that there are a lot of things in this world to be grateful about. Sure, the world can be shitty at the moment but still, life is so beautiful.

Sort:  

Be grateful for everything you have instead of being greedy for what you don't have.

So very true.


So this movie that you speak of. Unfortunately, I have seen it as well. Definitely a heavy drama. I have always thought that if I were to lose the functionality of moving myself around that I would want to simply be let go from the world. Now that I have a wife and son, I'm not as certain.

This is too much deep thought before I've had my first cup of coffee.. and more than I want to think about right now, so I'm going to close with .. Good Post :)

Yeah, it made me think a lot about my own life. Having a family changes everything.

I've been on the brink of suicide more than once in my life. I totally get it, and I really believe that we should ultimately get to decide when we are done here.
That said, I'm glad I didn't kill myself.
For me, it was about hope.(the lack of hope)
Hopelessness is the worst feeling there is, and in that space, you truly feel like an anchor on the ones who love you.

Personal change and probably travel are ways to get out of those spaces, but I totally understand those who end it when they feel stuck there.

I'm so sorry @tarotbyfergus that you have gone through such difficult phase in life. I'm glad to have gotten to know you through Steemit.

I saw that movie on the recommendation of a visiting teenager. I'm a bit torn about the issue. As you said, Mr Rich had much more options for a fulfilling and dignified life - even if a different life to the one he started with - because of his resources.
I'm in favour of passive euthanasia - where life-sustaining treatment is refused. I'm also in favour of some treatments that might shorten life for the sake of improving its quality. As for active euthanasia; I waver. I'm concerned that it's easy to fixate on a single solution and that can cloud the thinking regarding other solutions. While it might seem that my libertarian views should see me in favour of active euthanasia, my deeper moral views, the very views that lead me to be generally libertarian, place a high value on humans treasuring life, even a life of some suffering.

BTW: Simple solution suggestions to beating depression are usually not helpful. I had depression that was nearly career ending and I know others in a similar situation. There's some indication that depression might have a physical driver (inflamation) and treating that directly might help. But, the science is AFAIK still out on that. For now treatements seems to work best with some combination of medicine, diet, exercise, lifestyle, counselling, self-management and some recovery time. I do like being out in the trees though, especially during storms.

I'm gonna have to read more about these types of Euthanasia.

I'm sorry but I don't really buy all these western easy ways of buying meds, paying a fancy doctor to cure depression. What about those people who cannot afford these things? What do they have to rely on? When you reach rock-bottom there's no other way but to go up. Waking up one day and deciding that you appreciate simple things you have in life is way more difficult. It is not easy to just go for inner strength. It's not easy to a go for personal change instead of relying on fancy first-world treatment and shortcuts. It is a matter of looking into other lives of people and recognizing what you have. And it is not simple as you think especially when you are not used to it. When you don't have money, you got to rely only on available things. Well, we have different realities.

Current treatment or depression is as much of all these things as you can get access too. The medicine helps take off the edge, but the real work is what you say.

I don't suffer from depression and I have an indomitable spirit! I do, however, suffer from a rare and peculiar physilogical condition that I call Low Pressure Syndrome. Once the hi pressure comes back I'm back to being cheery as a summers day!
Okay, so that's out of way. i'm afraid Wilber is probably right on this one: it's a matter of perspective. If God truly doesn't exist and there are no E.T's, nothing out there and just us here alone? Then nothing truly matters! And I mean nothing. Is there room to make some meaning here? Yes, of course, but it wouldn't matter.
Fortunately, that perspective is most likely incorrect and reality is much more rich and complex than meaningless nihilism. I am, however, a Gnostic and don't expect much from this particular existence as it might be called...diabolic. But It's unclear what the relationship to goodness is within an evil paradigm. My hope is that the archons are more piss and fury than real and that kristos and sophia are as much immanent here as they are transcendent, but it's not my call and above my paygrade. I do believe 100% though that we don't have to be here...We've most likely been duped and as nice as this place can be at times, there are way, way better dimensions. But I don't recommend suicide as method to get there!
The character in the movie within a real life version of my theology? The archons will just fuck with him after the tunnel and manipulate him and lie to him and tell him anything to come back to their prison...Just say no to them next time you meet them upon death! I'm outta here:D

I know you don't suffer from depression. A part of me thinks that people just made up this thing inside their heads when really there's nothing. Some can be just sad and not contented with what they have. Or too spoiled in life or needs some special attention and rockstar treatment. Just be grateful that people have something to eat! I can understand when people are sleeping on cardboard in a freezing weather get depressed though! Other people allowing them in such depressing state is way depressing.

Do you have killing centers in Canada?

I haven't kept up with this issue. I should think we probably do. We do have the OPIATE epidemic and it's taking out tens of thousands; I've speculated that the archons are thrilled about this becuase it's cheaper to just get rid of them and send them back through the universal meat-grinder, so to speak. That a county as rich as Canada has one homeless person is utterly shameful and offers all the proof I need of Gnostic theology. And believe me, homelessness is epidemic up here and the country is run by cynical misanthropes.
Pragmatically, ending life for just reasons is something I don't have a problem with; what I have a problem with is corruption, and there is no shortage of it here and this doesn't bode well for State sanctioned death.

And do you have those Dignatas or Euthanasia clinics to end one's suffering?

Corruption is worse in many places!

I don't make a good moral relativist although I understand it well enough; the fact is that there NEED not be one homeless person in this country and that should tell all of us all we need to know about who runs the show here.
I'm not sure, would you like me to look into specifics? I'll look into it over the coming week if you do.

No worries. I checked that you have something like dying with dignity clinic there, just like in that movie.

I needed this today👍
I’ve been bummed due to a physical injury and I just needed this motivation and awesomeness 👍

I'm glad to be of help. Thanks!

yeh this is very thought provoking sense which you have describe in your article.hope is life and we always should stick to hope.always think positively and always think about that people who are below to you.we should interect to others people and listen their life problems care fully then we will forget our problems.because on this level we will able to compare ourselves to other then we come to know that thank to Allah we are in better condition comparative to others.just make a rule.forget pass live in present and never ever think about future.

Living a life of gratitude pays dividends each and very day.

My personal view point on suicide is that it essentially ends every possible possibility of the future. (As far as we know!) I don't see it as a solution, but one lives are our own. To each her own. Live and let live. Or, Live and Let Die.

True! We give meaning to our own lives.

Thanks!

Make it explicit and without the compliments of your writing with great influence.
When you read your publication, feel a sincere sense of trust,
There is a convergence between our two thoughts
I also dominate the human character and I love the good of all.
Frankly, man does not know the value of the sum of the blessings that God has given him until he loses them
Such as health loss of sight loss of limb ...
We must thank God for His grace, and enjoy life as much as possible and put a fingerprint in this short life,
Not running behind money and trotting.
Greetings

Kind words. Thanks for reading!

I have two thoughts on suicide that can of rule each other out.

  1. It is your life and body etc... do what you want. You are free to die.
  2. I think given more thought... you would likely choose to live... don't do something that you would regret if you were still able to have regrets...

The permanent solution to a temporary problem idea.

Your grateful attitude is simply amazing and inspiring! And yes, I can imagine the movie split the viewers in two sections! Assisted suicide is a heavy topic!

I am very happy you love your life so much and appreciate every aspect of it! Life is what we make out of it! :)

True. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63042.11
ETH 3047.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91