Getting Online Reviews For My Business

in #life5 years ago (edited)

images.png

Online reviews are my bread and butter. With the high competition around here, it's no doubt that having a niche and positive reviews can do the trick for starters. The question is, how do I get those reviews?

Do good work. There's really no shortcut to it. With my first few clients, I went above and beyond just for the positive reviews. As a new travel agent, having a good online reputation is very crucial to my success. I think it's not enough that people can find me on Google, they also check what others have to say about my services. I know sometimes Trip Advisor reviews on hotels and restaurants can be very subjective and biased. There will always be one unhappy customer who will ruin the business for you by exaggerating things such as the waitress not treating him with a smile or royalty. But a number of good reviews can outweigh those occasional bad apples. I think it makes your business more realistic. However, I can't afford to have those negative reviews right now for sure. It's not really necessary.

My last clients even asked me on email, how come I only have few reviews on Trip Advisor? Is there something wrong? My website impressed them but the few reviews make my business seem questionable. I didn't expect that coming but it makes sense. I have to admit that I just launched my business and someone has to set the bar in terms of personalized tours and sustainable ecotourism. And that is the truth. But, I am not sure if that is the appropriate answer but luckily they booked their tours with me and I got a positive review from them in the end.

Someone even told me that once I got everything right the first time, it will be the start. After launching my website 3 months ago, I got a few clients. Someone from Couchsurfing and the others who found me on Google - which is the best thing. I worked hard and went out of my way to give them a good travel experience. I had a client who promised to give me an online review and still didn't do it until now after all kinds of follow-ups. I wrote about this person who was also interested in a tie-up partnership in his country but I am not sure if I will buy into his promises and grand plans anymore. He can't even put an online review as promised. He just cannot understand how important reviews are for my new business and it annoys me secretly. Don't get me wrong, I don't do this to all my clients. I don't really harass them for reviews. I usually do email feedback follow up or that Trip Advisor web tool. Just this particular person because we made a deal. It's like offering me a candy but he will only make me hope for it - how typical! One thing I really hate in this world is when people say they will do something and then they don't. It's a red flag for me and most likely, I won't do any business partnership with this person. Sure, getting disappointed with people is all part of it.

See how I get crazy with online reviews? Even the travel agency I volunteered for in the Galapagos islands told me how they started with low competition and the positive reviews got them going. And they are now a successful family-owned business. Anyway, one way or another, potential clients will likely decide whether to do business with me based on online reviews. I don't have a physical location in town, yet, and I don't rely on walk-in customers and cheap volume. Word-of-mouth referrals used to be enough but these days people will likely Google me to see what others have to say.

Aside from doing good work, my brand has to be visible. I'm on Facebook, Instagram, Couchsurfing, email signature, and even Linkedin. Trip Advisor logos are everywhere too - even on Whatsapp. I kind of plant subliminal seeds ahead of time to make asking for reviews easier. All the things that I do to scale my startup fast - because I have basic needs to worry about, that's the thing! So yeah, online reviews will help pay the bills.

At this moment, I'm on the second page of Trip Advisor reviews in my area and industry. And I take this seriously. It is so competitive here and the only way to compete with the big box tour companies is to do things differently, and hopefully, people will write something good about it. Let's hope for the best.

Img Src: Trip Advisor

Sort:  

I think reviews are very important for any type of business, especially in the tourism industry since most clients check the reviews prior to booking.

I person who can't keep their promise to write a review is most likely not the type of person you want to partner up since it's clear he doesn't really understand the importance of his reviewers for your new business and probably doesn't care enough about it..

I know. It's hard for me to trust someone who's not true to his words.

For real reviews are really important potential customers don’t really take into context the bias that people have! A negative experience has more incentive to be placed online than a positive one! So if you have positive reviews they really go a long way in reducing fears and getting consumers to try you out

Posted using Partiko iOS

So if you have positive reviews they really go a long way in reducing fears and getting consumers to try you out

True. The challenge is getting those first few reviews which also means facing the dilemma of new businesses - getting sales.

You did the right thing in telling the customer that you don't have many reviews because your business is new - but that you yourself are not new to the industry. Fake reviews and bullshittery will kill your reputation in a click.
It's a slow grind this path, but the bills don't stop. You can survive in the meantime?

I had a feeling I did the right thing, what else can I say? It's the truth.

I am okay at the moment. Thanks!

Haha well you didn't resort to faking reviews so you are on the right track lol.

Everyone has to start somewhere and I think that a lot of people understand that. Plus you can try to spin things in your favor by stressing the newness of your business as a selling point. Being new could mean that you are untested but it could also mean that you are different and exciting depending on how it is framed.

Being new could mean that you are untested but it could also mean that you are different and exciting depending on how it is framed.

Yes, I am thinking that there's also an advantage to being a new business. So I think, I answered the right thing to my client!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94