Fake It Till You Make It?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Cliff Jumping.jpg

This is probably one of those things they tell you when you've just started your business. I admit I kind of hate this ubiquitous advice because I'm not a naturally born psychopath. What is it there to fake? My feelings and the harsh reality? A show of bravery in the name of ego? I just don't know for how long I can pretend everything's alright or look bigger than I am and stay confident in front of my clients, service providers, and partners. I'm just grateful that I have a few good friends who know exactly what I'm going through at this moment. This is the most important thing.

Right now I'm faced with one of the challenges of being an entrepreneur - to steer clear of the debt trap. I think debt is the worst thing in the world, it can kill you. It already killed a lot of people. I honestly hate all kinds of debt, whether bank loans or credit cards and mortgage. So, I will try my best to stay out of this kind of financial trouble and live. I think one solution is to make money on the side. Unfortunately, Steemit income is not enough anymore unless Steem miraculously goes to the moon and everything will be in my favor again. But things don't turn out as expected all the time and that's just life.

Sure, that's clear to me but what should I do now? As much as I wish to call myself an entrepreneur, as fancy as the label may sound, maybe I should be taking other titles too, like Steemit content contributor, unpopular blogger, or probably a cocktail waitress or receptionist. Nah, not that I mock those jobs, it's just really hard for me to swallow my pride and work for others to cover my expenses, get my face and attitude out there, lose my precious time and even my reputation. But it's also hard to keep the ego when my refrigerator is empty literally. Not even have a fallback like a family house, like a free home you know. I've already sold some of my stuff. And some people still owe me some tiny money, yeah I know, I am too nice. It's time to get that money back now! Anyway, there must be some other way to get some sort of income to pay the rent because I cannot just sit here blogging away while waiting for Steem to finally go up. Sadly, I might have to power down against my will. I'm sorry, times are hard for the dreamers again. I'll give it back to the community when things become better. When will I ever get out of this? This thing of mine is such an emotional roller coaster ride, just like the crypto space.

I am still trying my best to do something dream-related every day and work toward my goals. Sometimes it's just mentally-taxing when I have bills to pay. It's hard to stay focused when I worry about my needs. I know it's going to be tough for a while. But, one of the qualities of being an entrepreneur is doing whatever it takes to succeed. I have to go in that direction because I don't really think I have other options anyway.

The only way is to get more bookings, more clients, and more good reviews. However, not every startup is lucky enough to score consistent sales early on. This is what I've been working on but things are just slow in society today. If I am to scale my startup fast, I have to manage without a source of income for several months at a stretch. And this is going to be difficult. How others did it?

I think I've isolated myself enough just to stay frugal. I don't go out, eat out, and social life is not really something that I need right now. My rent is already cheap by world's standards sure, but it's different when you actually live here and don't have a job. You have to adapt to the economy and it's pretty much the same. Anyway, I can go on and whine, but I still have to stay in control and move forward. I have to give my startup a few more months because it's still in infancy. Entrepreneurship is not for the impatient suckers out there. It's important to give it some time. Right now, I just have to think of other ways to survive and keep my spirits up.

Sort:  

Haha I always thought that saying was something that sounds good but actually means very little.

It is a difficult choice to make when your dreams come into conflict with your needs. I have had similar struggles at times and I don't know if there is a right answer. One can suffer through the hardship of going after the things that he or she wants or he or she can suffer through the hardships of focusing on survival at the expense of his or her desires. It seems like no matter what we choose, there will be some type of suffering. A friend of mine, for example, just had to take a job in city a few hundred miles from his wife and kids. I know that that must be hard but so was struggling to keep them fed with the job he had here.

I think you know what you are doing though and it sounds like you have a good model for your business. Together those things give you a good chance at success and that is probably the best that us regular people can hope for when we try to find our fortunes through our own work.

It seems like no matter what we choose, there will be some type of suffering.

I know. One way or another, there will always be challenges and I have to choose which will make me suffer less.

Thank you for the kind words!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63837.42
ETH 2539.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65