2 Things that 'I Need' for My Startup and Why Steemit Should Support my Endeavors

in #life6 years ago (edited)

C360_2018-05-25-13-06-59-635.jpg

I know that one or two touches of a big whale can make a big difference in my life right now, and to those around me someday. Oh don't get me wrong, this is not a plea nor a desperate attempt to change how things are on Steemit these days. I'm not that type. Not an attempt to be classy somewhat, perhaps just a classy human being who needs some classy support from time to time too, if not in the real world, at least in this world that I've grown to love more, Steemit world. I'm just the type who continuously and persistently write for this community without a care, for more than a year now, not that it matters to most. Not that I'm uber talented or popular around here that my Steemit existence would even matter. Not that I need to explain myself further.

I confess that I have been diabolic to some big followers that I don't deserve their upvotes anymore. The righteous punishment has already been made clear to me. The popular crowd doesn't buy what I write, not that I wish for that anyway. Not that I wish I could preach all that positivity topics, arts, and crafts, cryptocurrency analysis, Steemit typical rants and such, or go out of my way to appeal to Steemit masses by commenting, being actively in chatrooms or 'being out there'. But then again, I will not apologize for how I write. Steemit is the only place that I can be totally myself without apologies. I can write down my life and all my thoughts without limitations. But as always, being yourself has its price.

Yesterday I have been thinking about the two important things that I need in order to progress greatly in my startup endeavors. Coordinating with independent contractors in town can be quite challenging as it is now without my own mode of transportation. I love my bicycle so much and I use it mostly to leisurely bike up to the nearby beach, to keep my sanity and somehow ease the pain of isolation and social failure. However, it is not something I can use to regularly go down to the town fast enough with all the uphills and downhills along the way. Public transportation is quite limited too. A service provider finally suggested for me to get a motorbike or a scooter to make our future coordinations way easier. I can't afford to hire an assistant or a runner yet to do things for me so it does make sense to have my own transport to be able to do things on my own, for now. It makes sense to have your own transport, doesn't it? Ok, I am not in Thailand nor in Thai traffic, but this is just the most efficient way to get around in the island, or any other island destinations in the world you visit, whether Bermuda or Fiji. It is not something I will wish out of luxury, it is a need.

Recently, I had to take a big chunk out of my Bitcoin savings for my mum's death so a motorbike is not something I could buy in cash now. Mind you, I also have food and rent to worry about. Looming uncertainties can make one go insane but that's just the risk one can take in exchange for a complete life overhaul. Not for the faint of heart, I suppose. There's the 'financing' option which will take up to 3 years just to pay $1300 with interests and all, that is still subject to approval by the motor company. Hopefully, they'll believe that the business will boom. I know it is not a lot for most to even pay for it monthly. The amount is probably just the cost of your rent or something. And it seems that it is a lot of money here on Steemit, and I am not even getting 5% of that on a post lately. I just wonder where all the money in the Steemit rewards pool is getting burned these days? Honestly, I've never really wanted a loan, debt or anything similar to a mortgage, that's why I'm trying my best to bootstrap or finance my own startup. I'd rather buy my transport in cash if I have the choice or I'd probably have it paid in 6 months or something. Or I'd pay it in the least amount possible until I could finally afford to pay it all in cash.

Lately, I'm also finding it hard to get proper photos for my website as even the partner agencies don't have what I need. Some of them have just gotten the stock photos somewhere. You all know that I don't want to be just as mediocre. I figure that I need to portray the right kind of image on my cover, something that I give, and it's not material. Most of the agencies here will put a photo of the iconic spot and that's about it. I actually want happy and diverse people in it. Travelers enjoying the place and the whole experience together, looking like it's not only about the place, but the goodness of the moment. That's what I want to portray right when you land on my website. Proper photos require me to be at the sights with a proper camera. I know I'll get proper photos later on but it is just hard without ones, to begin with. I've thought a proper camera is just a luxury but now I realize it is not. The cheapest proper camera is like $400, again it is not a lot for some. That is the Nikon D3400, a noob's DSLR camera, probably enough to take high-res photos and enough to look like I'm really taking my business seriously. I guess it is better to buy one than hire a photographer every time. I'll weigh my options. I don't have a traditional office or agency or a huge overhead costs, so the least I can have is a proper camera.

Those are just the two things that I need at the moment and I'll call it an investment. I've already given whatever I have for this venture and I have no regrets. I'll probably give more of what I have just to see it come to fruition. Now if only Bitcoin and Steem are going to the moon soon enough... problem solved big time.

Wondering why everything is taking so slow? For one, I only have one body. Every day I try to do what is supposedly done by a team. The fact that I couldn't even afford the things that I need is the main reason why I am doing everything on my own. Every day I am learning something new. I thank the universe for whatever knowledge I have gained and most importantly, to my unwavering persistence. I am surprised myself that I haven't given up on something to this day, that means that's how badly I want it. My mum's death also gave me the motivation to make something big happen, for her and my remaining loved ones. For myself. For others.

Finally, here's the reason why Steemit should support my startup endeavors, the community will benefit from my own success. That is the idea, isn't it? Here's the thing, I'm not aiming for something just to get by every day. I'm done with "just to get by" at this point in my life. I perfectly understand that elite success requires pain, deprivation, and sacrifice. Right from the beginning, I made a promise to give back to the Steemit community. And that I'll turn some of my profits to Steem Power so I could support talented writers and contributors, and hopefully, my upvote will no longer be cents worth anymore. Promising, isn't it? I had enough of doubters and negativity in real life. I definitely want Steemit to stay because it has been such a life-changing experience and a great help in all my ambitious goals. I want Steemit to be the witness to how everything will turn out and how everything should be. Someday I want to give back to my own community as well, to help those in need. Someday I want to look back, that at some point in my life, I was in need.

Sort:  

I support you with my upvote which is currently worth 3 cents :)

Do you run your business alone? Maybe think about getting somebody else on board? It might be easier to handle your (financial) problems with another person.

I don't know if it's a good idea to just buy a camera. A photographer also has an eye for interesting view angles. A great camera doesn't make photos visually appealing. You should consider this!

Are the photos your only problem of your startup at the moment? What does your startup exactly do? Sorry, I wasn't on Steemit for ages like I always say... Did you already pitch your business idea to travelers and tourist at your current location and do they like it?

I try to help you as best as I can :)

I think I will prefer to run it on my own for now, minus the headache of dividing and stuff.

With regard to the camera, I've given it a serious thought, and now I think that it might something I need. It does not have to be grand though.

Good luck, @diabolika. I've done a little bit to help by upvoting and resteeming.

Regarding the reward pool, check out the account by the name haejin and you will see some reward pool raping of a spectacular order. I hope like hell none of his supporters see this, as they are merciless against anyone who dares criticise their dear leader.

Yep, I know and I thank you for putting up with my posts!

Will it cause further disappointment if I check? Sounds like a cult lol.

It's a lot like a cult. I see he's up to reputation 81 now. That's the highest on the platform, I think, and via the algorithm about as high as it is possible to go. Depressing.

This was a good read. And you're right, it is an investment! Maybe give Patreon a try and see what kind of support you can drum up there. Might be worth checking out.

I will, thanks!

So pretty @diabolika

You are so close to all of that... It is coming to you soon.

Yey, thanks for the encouragement! :)

Surely lot of them will support you.

"I can write down my life and all my thoughts without limitations." That is why I like your blog. I get the sense that you say what you mean and that can be pretty rare on the internet and in real life.

Steemit could be a source of fund for start up. You can also apply for bank loan if you like. Your relatives and friends can help you in your business by lending some money.

Wish you all the best on your business, @diabolika!

I don't really like bank loans. But thanks!

Then you might find others sources of fund. Or, you can serve few clients first, and grow from their slowly. Do you like best.

Thank you so much @diabolika for your support in my post. Really appreciate that :)

I can understand your difficulties. The fact is every business needs investment, in my 2 cents opinion 1,300 $ in 3 year installment is not a bad choice. If you are at my place. I would love to donate my bike for 2 years. I wish you all the best. May you manage all the stuff really. You are brave soul who knows how to deal the situation. Good luck @diabolika

1,300 $ in 3 year installment is not a bad choice.

I thought so too!

Ok. Upvoted. Agree with jbp. It’s the angle not the camera that makes the picture worthy. Have you thought about renting a scooter from a reputable dealer? Not the vacation mogels that are on every corner. Best of luck. Sorry about your Mom. 🎤🐓🐓

The cost of renting would be the same as paying it monthly, then eventually owning it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99