All work and no play- The chill out post

in #life7 years ago

Hello steemians, hows it hanging,

full-fridge-1729681__340.jpg

I was opportune to be pulled away from my laptop and the constant stream of messages, posts and work for about 7 days straight and in those 7 days, I was able to breath, like literally breath air.

The thing is, while i was always online, I felt a sort of pressure building up, the late nights, the early mornings, the steady stream of posts, the constant buzzing of the phone, etc all these things combined to give an air, an aura of tightness, it was present, but never fully realized(just like that fart that never comes, you know its there, but it ain't coming out).

It wasn't until I was forced to take a break, that I realized I had been suffocating for a while.

The choking of the steem!

cohesion-1156942_960_720.jpg
Today I sat down and reflected on the past. Before steemit, after steemit, before music production, after music production. I had been having my siblings tell me that I was looking old and stressed but I believed them not, humans have a way to see only what they want to see. Today though, I saw the wrinkles, I saw the stress, I saw the sags in the eye, and it was all ugly.

I'm an introvert, I love the indoors, I love my books, I love to sit in one place and do nothing but research, yet I find that I grow tired like an extrovert would.

I did realize though, that work isnt defined by the environment in which you do it. A painter may be stressed out from moving an easel all day long, a secretary stressed out from all the typing, a musician stressed out from all the recording, a blogger on steemit stressed out from all the time spent typing, proofreading, source hunting, topic selecting, post promoting, community building, etc.

I came to a new conclusion that work, is defined as the amount of hours one puts his mind to focus on a task, the amount of brain power one uses, the amount of mental processing that occurs for an individual in a set time frame.

And steemit is a lot of work.

But,

control-427510_960_720.png

Despite all the supposed work that goes on with steem, I find people genuinely enjoying the time they spend here. Could it be that I, in the bid to do my very best, created an imaginary prison work station for myself?

Researching, i found out that most humans live a ''rat race'' sort of life. A life of constant seeking, but never finding, constant running, but never reaching the goal.

Rat Race: Any exhausting, unremitting and usually competitive activity or routine, especially a pressured urban working lifestyle, spent trying to get ahead with little time left for leisure, contemplation, etc

rat-race

I speak of my situation, but its evident that this is the way most people on steemit today live their lives.

Always seeking for that next upvote

Always watching the price of steem and SBD on the market

Always worried about achieving one goal or another

The fun of the site is lost in a constant struggle to get that next upvote.

I remember telling people that the site is a community, a place to interact and form bonds. But a tense and highly political environment is the last place anyone would want to form a bond in. The toxic elements aren't helping matters either, causing riffs between communities and sub communities, causing flag wars and all sort of vices.

I look at steemit right now and shake my damn head. The thirst is real, the thirst for power, money, recognition, upvotes, wealth.

Chill out!

woman-2685462_960_720.jpg
This is me, hoping that one or more individual can see this and go, ''oh, I've been taking this the wrong way too, rather than take this as a full time kill myself on it kind of job, let me just relax and go with the flow of the community''.

I have people to help, guide and mentor here, and I do it with all diligence, that doesn't mean I have to kill myself or get a high-blood pressure because of some imaginary deadline. As much as I enjoy using and living on the site, I want to be part of a community, not work in an upvote factory.

Thanks



images gotten from pixabay.com



If you got here,, please check out my last post, there is a contest there that you could partake in if you're african

A total of 25 sbd is going to be won

Sort:  

Bro, I do love d point u are bringing up. But as our Nigerians will always say, were you work, Na there u go chop (work shop) but I know a time will come when I'll sit down like u and be smiling at all the stuff I'm passing through now, d day I'll also be like u and not peeping my blog for upvote, days I'll also be giving advice and throwing contest like u and other nigeria curators... But that day is not Now!! I still have a long way to that mess wey know wan come out.. 😂

Dont kill yourself on the race though. .

Rest is a must.

Lol. Make the mess commot O.

Hahahaha... If e come out now, e know go smell.. Make e dey dere small 😂

Nice Mr samson, perseverance is all it takes.

I just did a post on this exact same post and took a day or two off and it felt awesome coming back to steem where it started to feel like a chore before the break.

Very nice sir!

I like your thinking on this.hope things are going well on steemit for you

They are so far thanks. It's been a bit of a roller coaster, but just keep reminding myself this is a long term investment.

Beautiful one Oga @destinysaid. I wish everyone would see steemit an a community and not as an upvote factory. Rest well, eat well and steemit well. All will be good.

lol @ upvote factory, thats what many think

Thanks for sharing @destinysaid .

glad you liked it mate

You have said it all @destinysaid, you have mirrored my fears but just like you, I consciously made up my mind to take a much desired break intermittently. I took this decision when I heard my children saying this

Mummy has changed so much since she joined this steemit. She doesn't gist or play with us anymore.

Then I knew it was time to re order my priorities and take steemit nice and slow. A great and timely post

Even God rested after creation. He always took out to see Adam and mingle with him. Your decision was the best.

Ahh, yes its really important to rest once in a while.

Funny though, Kids always wanna play

Yea, you are really right.
Man needs rest sometimes.

Sure thing.

Indeed , thanks for dropping by

Hustle and no rest makes the body age quickly. Na research talk am oooooooooo. Nice one boss.

@stevenmoses na research talk am tru tru

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63348.66
ETH 2668.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78