You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Nostalgia & How to Make the Best of Our Time

in #life7 years ago

I am sitting here, pondering your post @ronni... and having "an experience within an experience."

You see, I read your post, got to your picture, read the words "Vurder din oplevelse med Oluf" and thought to myself "Jeg er dansker... jeg savner vores gamle sommerhus...men hvorfor det... det er da egentlig underligt?" and went on a nostalgic experience of my own. Strange, because I normally think in English, not in Danish. I can't explain it, exactly... but there was a slight sadness (vemod) at the thought.

Maybe what we experience is a variation on the Japanese "mono no aware" which best translated means something like "a reflection and slight sadness at recognizing the transience of life as this moment will never exist again." We can still revisit any moment in our memories... nothing was "taken" from us; but a "present moment" was replaced by a memory.

I don't know if I am making sense at ALL here... but I felt compelled to try to write this out.

Sort:  

You are making perfect sense denmarkguy and it is a difficult feeling to explain in words. Nostalgia and longing are not doing it justice, the feeling is very complex but your Japanese saying does a good job at trying to convey it.

Having left your country of birth must certainly awaken some of these "mono no aware" feelings. I hope some of my posts from Denmark will bring you back in time once in a while because this strange feeling is actually quite insightful.

ronni

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68156.06
ETH 3517.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81