You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bears On Welfare And The Domesticed Fox

in #life7 years ago

I'm grateful that my parents were sort of "survivalists before their time." I literally grew up in a house that was being hand built around us, and we grew a bunch of our own food... in the later 1960's to early 70's. But you're right, a lot of people are dependent... and I don't necessarily think having automation do everything for us is a good thing...

Sort:  

It kinda pisses me off that people call those who can care for themselves and prepare for uncertain times survivalists and conspiracy theorist. Looking back through history people like your Mom and Dad would be called normal. I grew up during a time when government wasn't so invasive. We grew and hunted hunted our food, milled our own lumber, built our own homes, tended to our sick. My family comes from small business and farming stock. We were the authority in our own lives. I'm grateful for my family too!

I know what you mean... reminds me a bit of a meme I saw some years ago. Photo of a vegetable shop with a sign outside that reads "We only sell organic, non-GMO, pesticide free, fair trade, naturally grown, small producer, hand harvested produce. Or, as your grandparents used to call it: FOOD."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60265.23
ETH 2324.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55