Do You Ever Wonder What HAPPENS To People?

in #life7 years ago

Although I haven't been spending as much time on Facebook as I once did (before Steemit!), I sometimes spend a little time looking at my connections. My so-called "friends list." Whatever you want to call it-- every social media platform seems to have its own terminology.

Anyway...

Gibraltar
Walking towards the rock of Gibraltar

Do you ever wonder what happened, when a person has been an active poster/contributor, and then suddenly stops, one day? They are going along with lots of daily activity and then stops, never to return? Stops, and doesn't even respond to email or private messages?

Where do they go? Is it just a matter of boredom, or have they gone to "that place" where orphaned socks, a bunch of my wife's lighters and several of my old daytimers now live? 

If that's the case, please send me the socks....!

I find it hard to believe that so many people would just keel over and die...

Of course, "random disappearance" isn't just about Facebook, or other social media places... people vanish all the time. Not long ago, someone I've known in virtual space for more than 10 years (through a common interest group) suddenly "vanished;" this after we'd been exchanging emails an average of once a week, during all that time.

Do we just grow bored with each other? And since the web can be such a tenuous connection, do we find it easier to just "go away," than if the relationship existed in meatspace?

Bougainvillea
Bougainvillea

I do know that I sometimes reach a point at which I grow tired of "reaching out," and realize that if I didn't do the reaching; if I didn't take that "first step" for the 49th consecutive time, there would be nothing there but an empty message box. 

For all its promise of bringing people closer together, it makes me wonder whether we really are that thinly connected in online environments? Would most people rather just be alone?

Do you ever wonder if the 2,671 Facebook "groups" you belong to actually serve any kind of purpose, or if anything actually becomes of the 1172 Facebook pages you have "liked?"

Do you ever wonder how many people actually visit those group homepages, other than once to sign up, or maybe sign off? How can there be 8000 members, yet almost no activity?

I know from past experience that "dead accounts" can be a major issue for developers of groups and social sites. People are quick to get onboard with a new idea, but almost immediately lose interest. 

So here we are, with this thing called Steemit.

PurpleFlowers
Some purple flowers... not sure what kind

I am feeling hopeful about this venue, and being part of something that feels like it could become a truly vibrant community... but I also recognize that at the moment I am probably suffering from a bit of that "new venue infatuation." Still, the people I have encountered here seem to show a higher level of involvement and caring than I have encountered in quite a few years... possibly because of a common thread: an interest in "the alternative;" be it living, currency, opinions, economics...

I like the idea that Steemit actually seems like a site that attracts writers, photographers, artists and other "cultural creatives" and alternative thinkers... something above and beyond "just another blog host." 

Well, it's late in the evening here on the US west coast... but I just found myself wondering how others experience this thing of people we seemingly know quite well "suddenly disappearing?" Or do you not have that experience? Or does it not matter to you? I know I tend to take things a bit seriously... and this is a bit of an odd post and my brain is not running at 100%...

As always, all words and images are my own, unless otherwise credited... this is original content created for Steemit.

Sort:  

Great post! I love your writing.

That's an unusual but interesting approach... seems this person was a bit of a controversial figure?

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 19. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.75 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 19 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59508.12
ETH 2603.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39