Racism in the 21st Century and the Trending case of the H&M Kenyan-born Swedish Kid.

in #life7 years ago

Before even writing this article I know that it is an overly controversial issue and I take a risk writing it. But I have to offer my opinion on this and I only hope you keep an open mind.

You wouldn't be surprised at how much outrage this has caused in the online community, Twittersphere and on Facebook as well has been on fire.

You would be surprised that personally as a young black man, I don't see what the outrage is all about.

H&M’S ‘Racist’ Monkey Hoodie?

If you have not heard about it by now, H&M which is a Swedish multinational retail clothing company recently published an image of a model who happened to be a black child, wearing a hoodie with the words "Coolest Monkey in the Jungle."

Right now, some of you have probably drawn a collective sharp breath and wondered, rightfully if I might add, how a multinational company would be so stupid and blind as to not foresee the backlash from such an image.

It is obvious what the affront is. Black people were commonly compared to monkies and probably are even to this day. It is derogatory and meant as an insult.

However, I highly doubt that H&M was putting it out there just how racist they are. It is just a common phrase even that comes off as cheeky and that people would have construed differently if it was not a black child advertising it. Perspective!

You would also think that the mother of this poor young black boy is going berserk over this as well but surprise - surprise, she isn't.

"[I] am the mum, and this is one of hundreds of outfits my son has modeled. Stop crying wolf all the time, [it’s] an unnecessary issue here. Get over it.. That’s my son, [I’ve] been to all photo shoots and this was not an exception. Everyone is entitled to their opinion about this… I really don’t understand but not [because I’m] choosing not to, but because it’s not my way of thinking. Sorry."

She could hardly give two F's about it while almost the entire online community is having a fit over it.

I actually support her on this.

I am not burying my head in the dirt and saying that racism does not exist. I live in Africa and therefore I have not experienced racism in Europe and America, some might say. I do know it exists.

However, we have made it into such a huge issue that any word or phrase that has been used to refer to black people in the past instantly elicits a reaction. For example, the phrase 'poor young black boy' that I used earlier in the article probably triggered some images of malnourished young black boys with swollen tummies.

That is the image that has been seared into your brain from the numerous campaigns on TV from NGO's and Multinationals trying to drain donations out of your pockets. Most of that money probably will never reach those who need it.

It has created such a skewed perspective of Africa that some people in other countries are actually shocked to hear that we don't all live in huts.

I cannot say that I am surprised with the reaction though.

Gerald Gillum, widely known as G-Eazy has even called off his collaboration with H&M over this particular image.

The Weeknd was also quick to distance himself from the brand after waking up to this news.

Conclusion

If anything, what I have learned from this situation is that despite how quickly we have advanced in terms of technology our minds and our understanding is stuck in the stone ages. Like the mother of the young boy says, "It’s not my way of thinking." She has evolved.

If that is not a powerful message I don't know what is. We must emancipate ourselves from this way of thinking where we amplify things that we assume are offensive while we ignore things that are actually heinous in nature.

Wars, government corruption, slavery, and the displacement of people due to civil conflict are almost a daily occurrence yet they are but a blip in the online space.

Politicians, especially in the African States, have collapsed entire economies and flown off to the US with half of their country's GDP. How does this even happen? How are they even allowed into those countries?

We have much more developed countries instigating civil conflict in far-flung countries and profiteering by selling guns, tanks, and other military hardware and then siphoning all the natural resources unabated.

When will we change the way we think?


image.png
Support Community Curation Project @boosterke for Steemit Kenya with an SP delegation, Steem or SBD.

Would you #Follow, #Upvote or #Resteem me? I hope to see you in the next one!

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 61362.14
ETH 2643.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58