A tale about Giants and how I fit in #1: Getting inside their head.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

cover.jpg

When I was little, everybody picked on me. I was the last of my brothers that embraced this world, and nature was very generous with me. They envied me. I'm not one, not two, but three different colors, if you count white as a color. Some art critics and politicians might disagree.

I was last at everything. Last at breakfast, last at lunch, last at dinner. And I have a feeling that mum didn't like me that much right from the beginning. She sometimes "ran out" right when it was my turn. As a result, I was a bit skinnier than my brothers. I was hungry all the time, and because of that, I have a bigger appetite today than most of my kin.

Inside the Giants' home

At first, we were all squeezed inside of what I thought to be a tiny room, only to find out later that the world is a bigger place that I had previously imagined. I mean, there were signs, like bits and pieces of sound, but for a few weeks, we were all in the dark and couldn't move that much. Imagine that much time alone with yourself.

After a few weeks mum pulled us out of our room, it was just a cardboard box! The first thing I saw was a giant foot. I felt terrified at first, but it grows on you. I guess that many things can seem terrifying at first glance.

The Leap

However, the Giants seemed to like me. Although, I must say, taking the "leap" isn't that great. You just walk around like the regular you, and suddenly a giant hand picks you up and moves you around. Sometimes they even throw you in the air. Quite enjoyable with time.

The Outside World

We lived in a lobby inside the Giant house. At night it got cold. Outside of that lobby, there was another world, where I didn't really get along with anybody. The Terrestrial Winged creatures were always chasing me, and it became clear that my mother didn't like me because she poked me almost every time she saw me. Luckily, my brothers let me play with them from time to time. But most of the time I hid under a brick or something, observing. The outside world looked like a construction site! Plenty of room for anything to happen.

Giants sometimes have a funny way of feeding. Sometimes one of them snatched one of the Winged creatures, and in about 2 hours something smelled delicious. That was proof that my mentalist powers were working!

idea.jpg

Reaching the inside

It was soon obvious that my ticket for a decent life was on the inside with the Giants. So I needed to make sure they take me in for good. The good thing was, I felt stronger day by day. Soon my mother "ran out" for good, and she'd poke any of us who dared to ask for more. It seemed like we had to do all the work by ourselves. So we started climbing around the table, sniffing around like Bear Grills, looking for ways to feed ourselves. We soon discovered that the Giants disapproved of our actions. But they were kind folks, so they provided tiny maroon rocks that tasted soooo gooood! I could swear they smelled a bit like that-time-when-they-cooked-Ophelia, one of the elder winged.

gaina.jpg

My colors were shining brighter day by day, and I soon gained the envy of my brothers. They started picking on me too. Two of the younger Giants observed my non-interference attitude and thought I was weak, so they rescued me. They pressed their mouths against my colorful fur (I like to call it "The Furr that Purr"). In time, I learned that that was their way of showing affection. They do it between themselves too. Anyway, it was proof that my plan was working. Still, they were the only Giants that seemed interested in me.

I endured the laughs and the charade for two more weeks, while I had to kiss Giant ass (pun intended - it was too good to leave it out). But they finally took me in.

One of the Giants was sitting in front of this shiny and luminous rectangle looking at it very focused. So it was part-my-curiosity and part-my-desire-to-impress that made me rush to him and jump on his lap, then quickly in front of the bright rectangle. It was bright and blurry so that I couldn't distinguish a thing. My heart pounded, I started to feel scared. But the young Giant liked it, and he started touching me with his hands. So you know how they say that at some point you have to give something back, so I purred. Then he pressed his mouth against my fur again, ruining it. I had to wash again. But I knew I had him.

victory.jpg

The other outside world

Two amazing weeks followed. I was watching my brothers from the window. I was above them now.

But one day, the young Giant argued with an elder-ish giant. I was there, and I hid under the bed. (I have a few funny stories about Giant beds too). It was awful, they were communicating with each other at a deafening level, and it was scary. After half an hour of loud communication, the young Giant pulled me, and I took a leap (of faith - at that point). I thought they fought because of me. He put me in his backpack (which I found comfy-but still wtf, man?!) I try to defend myself by slashing him, but he seemed to be wearing some leather armor. I focused on piercing through that.

But then I realized that there was way more to the outside world that I previously observed. It was just so...big. He carried me to a huge metal box, that was making loud noises. I started to panic again. Suddenly we were moving so fast!

IMG_3342.JPG

5 minutes later, we were there. I was afraid, and I kept my eyes shut.
I felt him climbing stairs, and the young female Giant opened the door. I realized that was going to be my new home. Back then it was big and warm. (Meantime it became a little bit smaller but still warm).

purr.jpg

Three years later, the Giants are completely under my spell. Sure, they're like babies to me, so I'm pretty attached, but still, I control them! Do you want to know how I did it? Leave a comment below, and I'll tell you more about life around them.

Much Purr,
P.

(BONUS IMAGE: Steeming when the Giants are not home.

steemit.jpg

__
Ever thought what your cat was thinking? If you haven't guessed it by now, this is the story of how I met my cat. Me and E. have a special connection with her. She always get what she wants, but she also takes good care of us.

Thank you @adrianv for providing this wonderful steemit logo

Here's a song that goes well with the story

If you want to watch my journey, you can follow me @demostene. If you really like this story, please upvote and resteem. Let me know if you want to read more of this story. Thank you!

Sort:  

Hahaha - a little late but I love this story! I had my cat for 20 years, and am definitely a cat person! Wish I could share this... Cheers! (and say "meowww" to your kitty for me... )

Tiny human stuck in a cat body 😄 She deserves all the best in the world.

Yes she does! ^_^

What a great tale. Reminds me of the good book FLUKE (better than the film I promise). I love Torties and think they have a character all of their own for sure. In fact it's almost a year since we lost her, a beautiful golden, white, black, ginger mix. Will follow and upvote etc.

Thank you @suzanrs! I'll look for the book, cause it's always better than the movie:) followed you back

@demostene Thanks for your work sir.... Love it.

I'm glad you like it @jeannababara! Thank you for stopping by ^_^

Very interesting perspective well described!
Can't wait to read more from you.
Thank you @demostene!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

I encourage you to use the Boombox tag when sharing music. I do Mass resteems to support the community! https://steemit.com/trending/boombox

thank you! I will check it out

I don't have words to describe what I feel @demostene. This is simply amazing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59605.87
ETH 2518.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44