Celebrating My Friend

in #life7 years ago

I've been at odds with myself and have turned this issue over in my own mind several times. In the picture is a beautiful friend of mine who I loved dearly. She suddenly passed away on Friday the 13th, so a week ago.
I just bought a car and was planning a visit to go see her. The last time we talked, everything was going so great for her. She finally found a good relationship. She had worked and studied so hard to graduate from her nursing program and had begun the next level. She loved her job and everybody who met her, loved her.
She had a contagious smile and was so funny. She was just a wonderful person who achieved whatever she set her mind to. I guess her passing was just so unexpected for me and I'm having a hard time with closure. I suppose this is the best way for me to say goodbye.

FB_IMG_1508549546486.jpg
Her name is Megan and she was a firecracker. Her sudden passing was of natural causes they say. I imagine it was some complication from her condition.
She lived with a form of Muscular Dystrophy and had to go through a lot of medical procedures constantly. That never slowed her down.
Megan worked incredibly hard. She studied so diligently. She constantly pushed so hard to succeed and be independent. She was always the first one to want to go out and be social. She loved interacting with people. Megan had a great sense of humor and was so intuitively smart. She gave great advice. She was so giving and generous. I could say volumes of great things about her, and they would all be true.
If you are still reading this, I have arrived at my point. We never know how much time we are given in this world. An invisible timer is clicking away at our days, and we only get so many.
This leads me to my final message.

FB_IMG_1507939563754.jpg
We should all live our lives as if we are living on borrowed time. Always keep pushing. Always keep trying. Try the new things. Meet new people. Show your love and kindness. Stand up for yourself. Never let go of your dreams. Do what you believe in and nothing else. Be brave enough to really live.

Megan, I miss you so much and I'm so so sorry we won't get to visit for a while, but I'll get there eventually I promise. I love you.

Save a seat for me okay?

Sort:  

So sad.

....upvoted and resteemed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63651.41
ETH 2679.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80