'Names Can Never Hurt Me' is ONE GREAT BIG LIE!

in #life7 years ago

aid576206-v4-728px-Get-Rid-of-a-Bully-Step-11.jpg

wikiHow

I always think of bullying as intimidating other people by saying and doing mean things to them or about them. I'm the unusual person who can't remember ever being bullied myself. It would be difficult to bully me as I don't give a monkey's uncle what mean people think about me. Never have.

In the last decade, we have seen the growth of Cyberbullying, which is ' bullying through a mobile phone or online (eg by email, instant messenger or on social network sites'. (BullyingUK) Stats vary, but at least 25% of kids have been victims. Some say it's as high as 40%. Adults, too, are targeted sometimes.

I would like to talk about teenagers in this post.

Teens sometimes have the idea that if you aren’t physically hurting someone, you aren’t doing anything wrong. There's an old LIE that supports this.

Remember this saying?

Sticks and stones
May break my bones
But words will never
Hurt me.

Of course, it's rubbish!

Hurtful and negative words, used over and over again, both in real life and social media, can have a devastating effect on self-esteem and even lead to suicide in some vulnerable people.

We all need to remember that what's posted online stays online forever.

Before posting comments about others, people should ask themselves:

Is it kind?
Is it necessary?
Is it true?

Spiteful posting is never necessary or kind, and it’s probably not true. If something unfortunate happens it doesn't mean you have a right to yak your opinion about it on social media. The repercussions can be devastating.

Freedom of speech is not applicable here!

Selfies, social media, camera-phones and editing software, all create opportunities for cyberbullying.

A very helpful site can be found by clicking here.

Thank you for viewing!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by One Step Behind from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Your words are thoughtful and kindly and I thank you,
Yesterday I played quite the cyber bully, my words were very unkind towards Muslims and Muhammad in particular I called him the false prophet. And just like you said with this little phone in my hand my only way of connecting to the Techno World, I cursed and challenged all of the head leaders of Isis and jihadist in Terrorist from around the world, I was in the store Mahmood and it stormed outside even as I spoke, quite contrary to my terrible tormenting words yesterday I'm one of the most compassionate loving man that has ever walked on the face of this planet, and unlike you I have been bullied but it didn't go well for those, from the time I was a very small child I've lived with envy and threats and torments from those that were much bigger than me much more well-trained and much more sure of themselves but when it came to them actually hurting me it didn't go well for... the scriptures teach us resist the devil and he will flee, in this case I intend for the Devil the flea straight getmoe until we get more of them in the hell that they deserve... I published my selfie, I've asked them to publish. You could think of me as just a Fisher man trying to bait a hook and get somebody to bite specially the big whales of Isis. So blessings to you and all the family of love and peace and gentleness and peace, we ought to teach our children and young people not to be bullies ever, we also need to teach them not to be afraid of bullies that there's a time and a place to stand up and stand your ground and don't back down..
My prayer is that we all live in a world that's free of Terror and torment.
Until that day I stand anointed appointed I am Elijah @yzart

Thank you for taking time to share your experiences.
You cover some very important topics.
It seems you are suffering some guilty feelings about your own behaviour.
Don't be too hard on yourself. You are, in your own words, a 'compassionate, loving man' so focus on this beautiful nature you have.
I wish you well @yzart!

I'm Calling You Beautiful d, thanks for letting me piggyback on your thread, I'm not feeling guilt, I'm feeling guilty, of a consuming Zeal for the Lord God and the living Christ Yeshua, Shameless promotion of the Truth, Fearless confrontation, endless prayers in efforts to destroy Isis the Islamic deception and exposure of the false prophet Muhammad and all terrorism in particular. Let's get this straight D we're both guilty of being beautiful people thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60993.82
ETH 3387.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49