Dear Steemy - I'm A Drama-Bomb!

in #life8 years ago

Dear Steemy,
I can't help it, I love drama. When I'm seeing a guy and he isn't giving me the attention I deserve, I do whatever it takes to get it. It can be dramatic, but it gets my point across. The current guy I'm seeing only responds when I'm dramatic. He's slept around with other people, lies about it and thinks that I'm stupid. I have had blowout fights before with guys I dated, so this will probably turn out the same. I just wanted to say that I love the drama. I don't think I would be as into everything if there wasn't some back and forth. I accept that I'm a drama bomb!

Thanks Steemy,
Katie Kaboom

Hi Katie,

I like when a person feels as though they understand their own nature. We all have predilections and angles, and it's what makes this whole world beautiful. When we accept the nature of our personality, we are able to more honestly approach relationships and circumstances in life. But when we don't mind the extremes, we can find ourselves in a constant struggle with stress, anxiety and even depression.

Give to Get

There is certainly some fresh, exciting energy involved in new relationships. The attention we give to them can make them bloom vibrantly, creating a feedback energy loop that excites both parties. Even when that attention is negative, there is still energy being transferred between parties, and this is what keeps us in cycles of drama. If we cannot look at ourselves as worthy of positive attention, then we will seek out negative attention that is in line with our worldview. We literally attract to us that which we want.

Drama Can be Good Theater, for Short Runs

Sure, the negative attention you receive is still attention, but there's a critical difference. Positive attention enriches us and leads us to invest more fully in ourselves and our ambitions. When we live in positive attention, we're better able to thrive. Negative attention gives us the drama that we crave, the sensational episode that we can share in secrecy with our friends, or with Steemy. But it also gives us something else, something unexpected. Negative attention robs us of our ability to perceive ourselves in a positive light. It requires us to remain in a position where we are able to receive negative attention, usually a vulnerable and exploited state. The benefits of negative attention are short-lived.

Love Yourself, Drama and All

It's important to know who you are, even if who you are is a drama bomb! We all have our faults and strengths, and if you like to stir things up, you shouldn't feel ashamed. If people didn't respond to drama, we wouldn't have daytime television or Broadway. Just remember, if you take your drama to the next level, you may find yourself too good to date, or feeling too low for love!

Good Luck Katie,
Stay Steem



Hi Steemit,

I'm Steemy, and this is Dear Steemy. The above is a real life situation that I've adapted for this anonymous blog about the real issues we talk about. This series of confessions comes from my long history of being entrusted with the secrets of others, a heavy weight that I hope to lift a little by sharing it here with the Steemit community.

If you would like some advice anonymously, you can email me @ [email protected]. Please be aware that I will post your issue, and my response to it, here on Steemit. Unless otherwise specified, I will not use any usernames or other identifying information, nor will I divulge any information in my possession.

This email is purely for those wanting to ask for advice, or share something they're working through. Any spam or post promotion will be gently ignored.

This is an anonymous forum for sharing the hard-to-face situations where any advice would be appreciated. This is not to be construed as medical or psychological advice. Please feel free to comment with your feelings about the topic above.

Until I start to receive submissions from the community, I will share these current secrets that rest heavy on my heart. I hope you find comfort and personal value in this blog. I am so happy to be here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64998.89
ETH 3514.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37