1. Constraints

in #life6 years ago

samuel-zeller-367986.jpg
Image Source

For 100 days, I'm going to publish a plus-minus hundred-word post a day on Steemit. These 100 posts will be the insights, routines, and habits of living a better life.


When I was 16, I dreamed of achieving total freedom. Freedom of time. Freedom of money. Freedom of choice.

Today, I value the existence of constraints, because that is what makes us grow.

Without the vessel, the container, the glass, you can’t contain any water.

And without the tube or the pipe, there will be no flow.

Without constraints, we have no boundaries to push; worse, we have no wall to lean back when we fall.

Without constraints, we have zero focus and unlimited ambiguity that make creativity impossible.

Without constraints, we won't be able to make decisions because we then have unlimited choices; any choice we make will eventually make us wonder "what about" other choices we didn't make.

Instead of avoiding constraints, embrace them, face them, deal with them.


HelloSteemians.png

Footnotes

I write longer articles about strategic thinking and performance improvement on DeanYeong.com. You can download my book about hacking your habits here.

Sort:  

That's indeed a challenge . I can hardly come up with 50 words 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67646.43
ETH 3781.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55