You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Extraordinary and funny Chinese beliefs and superstitions /Такие необычные и забавные китайские приметы (featuring @quietcaulfield as author)

in #life8 years ago

this is exactly what Orientalism claims. the author is not Chinese and there is no source of information specified. If you truly understand the scale and the complexity that is associated with almost one quarter of Earth population, then this post won't help you understand this group of people better (therefore the term Chinese is too big as a unified concept). Instead, if you are just looking for a laugh, enjoy yourself, it is quite amusing. But don't make yourself a fool asking your Chinese friends about it.

Sort:  

I suppose the author of this comment was offended by the word "funny" in the title of the article. If it's so, I hasten to say that i didn not have such an intention to mock such complex , as you said and I said as well! in the beginning of my article, culture with great history as Chinese one. Yet you're wrong saying this little piece of imformation is useless when it comes to help understanding Chinese people, that, if follow your logic, probably has a habit to make "fools" of themselves, because I've been studying with Chinese students in a 4-storeyed block and all these years I've been observing such a picture: believe me or not, they've been avoiding the 4-th floor all along. I'm telling about this not as something deserving to be ridiculed, but as a special feature. We also have a lot of weird beliefs in Russia, yes, they may seem hilarious, but it's just the way it is. Just take it easy, Mr. Deanliu. Thank you.

hi @quietcaulfield , I might not agree what you said in the post but certainly I am not offended in any way. It is not easy conveying my points over internet without going into lengthy paragraphs and several exchanges of opinions so I will stop here. No problem at all and by the way I do believe that you do not have the intention to mock anyone. You take it easy too. Happy steeming!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58994.66
ETH 2596.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43