Follow me grocery shopping in a traditional Chinese market in Taiwan 台灣傳統市場走一回

in #life8 years ago (edited)

It is a beautiful day at Taipei today - a sunny day after days of rain. 

台北美好的週日早晨,今天做什麼事好?

After I wake up, I see a note on my laptop … My wife has given me a list for grocery shopping and no buying from nearby supermarket but from a traditional market that I need to ride subway for 2 stations. Well, it is a beautiful day and my wife’s order is not to be challenged. Besides, an idea pops up: why not share it on Steemit as an introduction for Taiwan’s local markets! (triggered by @elfkitchen ‘s post one week ago) This idea makes me so positive about my coming chore!! Although my wife sees through my brain and gives me a scornful look..

朋友們,看中文的讀者對於台灣這種傳統市場應該不陌生,我看亞洲各國,大中華圈的傳統市集,大概是賣的東西略有不同,但是那種氣氛是很類似的!我總覺得儘管似乎被認為是不衛生的、不進步的傳統市場,其實正是我們文化的重要成分,這裡面有非常好的生命力與庶民文化,每每我去過市場後都充滿能量的回家!內容我就不多介紹了,今日採購,總金額約38塊美金,下周聽說台灣有颱風要來,物價已經有點漲了,但今天買起來還是挺划算的感覺!這是離我家20分鐘地鐵交通的台北南邊的一個市場... 

Anyway, I took my dumbphone, wallet and shopping bag and stormed out of the door! After 20 mins, I have arrived this local, traditional, vibrant, hustling and bustling market! Follow me and see it for yourself via my dumbphone camera!  

People, lots of people, more people... is always what you see first entering a market... 

But as you blend in, gradually, you see only those beautiful, fresh and delicious nature's gifts on the booths... all kinds of vegetables, peppers, garlics, potatoes, tomatoes... 

Roasted chickens, flowers, fruits, fresh fish, chicken... oh, some pictures of pork butcher booth are here and here (in case someone find them too cruel to watch... ) ... I think these are enough for cooking all kinds of meals today!!

If you feel hungry after a bit of shopping and bargaining, there are some treats for your stomach. Even newspapers are here for your casual Sunday read. 

In the following, these are ALL the grocery in my shopping bag today!! Aren't they just gorgeous!? Total cost should be around $1200 TWDs, roughly $38 USDs. Given the forecast of coming typhoon next week (therefore pushing up prices for veges and fruits), this is quite a harvest!!

Sometimes when I feel depressed or unhappy, it is quite effective to cheer you up if you just visit a traditional market. You will feel life and energy there - be it noisy bargaining or greetings, pushing and shoving around, or smells of nature in the air - all may revive your inner power and recharge your depleted battery. This is not possible if you go to modern supermarkets.  

下次到台灣,一定要找個上午,很早就到傳統市場去逛逛看看,感受一下在地生活的脈動,當然更可以順便吃點便宜又好吃的早餐啦!

 

(a pepper signature gift from @papa-pepper!)

Sort:  

Love it! I can´t get enough of healthy chinese food. I´ll probably be visiting Taiwan next year and really looking forward to it!

The street market is the best place to get some of the best foods. Reading this post makes me want to travel and walk around and try all the vendors haha. That is soo cheap for groceries compared to where I am from. What did you make from all those produce?

well, you'll have to ask my wife :p

曾经有人说过,当你失意的时候,去一趟传统的菜市场,你会感受到生命的热情与活力! 谢谢deanliu分享!

這是真的!! you're welcome!

Looks great!
I was hoping to maybe see your name in peppers - LOL!

why? it is at the end of the post...

It must not have finished loading when I was looking at it, keep up the excellent work.

I want to go shopping there now!

no, papa, sorry I was just joking... I added after seeing your reply... :P
see!? I have edited again!

Quite like the market in Singapore.

next time, your turn then... world market tours...

:-) maybe more to the supermarket first.

I'm in America but I love finding Asian shops! Thank you for sharing and Happy Steem-ing!

you are welcome! we all need both types of shopping.

For sure looks more fun than a trip to Tescos =). Upvoted

it's like amusement park vs jungle expedition... :)

多谢分享,见到了中国宝岛上的疏菜,就是不知道价格怎么样

這麼說吧, 我在某攤買了: 高麗菜一顆, 花椰菜兩顆, 青江菜與小白菜各一斤, 老闆送了一把蔥... 這樣是台幣280元... 這還是預期下周颱風漲價已經先漲一點的價格... (ps 名稱我不知道是不是有出入, 然後這裡1斤是台斤, 600克, 不是500克)... 謝謝你提供我靈感啊!!

跟大陆的菜市场好像啊,看不出啥区别。

乍看真的真差不多(但你說的應該是南方的),得買了吃了才有差別吧... 或是食材差不多,熟食跟市場內小吃會有差別的.... 下次來我帶你去啊~~ 哈哈

我的户籍所在地,还没有开放对台的旅游,希望在我有生之年能开放吧. :-)

唉呀, 戶籍這種centralized的東西... 真是... 會的, 你年輕嘛!!

I've always wanted to come to Taiwan, especially for the street food in the local markets.

let me know jimmy. I will be your guide! but tell you a secret: street food in Taipei is nothing compared to other parts of Taiwan. Namely... Tainan, Taichung, I-lan, Hualien...

Cool, thanks for the advice Dean. I might need to ask you for suggestions where to go when I get the chance to visit TW in the future.

对台湾的水果很喜欢。几年前来的时候吃到饱 :)

對, 來再吃, 很多賣到大陸去的都TMD訂價太高, 看得我都嚇傻了

这种生鲜的物流与中间环节成本太高了。我新疆的表姐来访。今天下午我带她逛了一下本地最大的超市麦德龙(Metro),来自新疆的阿克苏苹果,在长沙买 29.2元一公斤,把她一样也是吓坏了。因为在新疆只卖6元一公斤 。

中間環節成本.... 不知多少污穢在其中啊!?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 66884.44
ETH 3466.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.19