You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Friends and money don't mix: Part 2

in #life5 years ago

I learned a valuable lesson dealing with these two and that is to not get involved with friends in business because you are going to lose one of them.

I mean, it can work but often times I would agree with you here. I know of a few people who work with their friends and it isn't an issue, but it's a bit different as they're co-workers and no one is in a superior position. I think I only know one person with that situation, but they've been running their business for over 10 years alongside two friends and they haven't had an issue come up yet. Hopefully they won't.

I can definitely see this just turning into a shit covered train wreck though more often than not. I mean, hell, I won't even loan most of my friends money because I've seen my mom get burned bad by loaning out money to friends and family. (She got into massive debt and never came out because of it. My cousin did a fraudulent check of 40k and instead of charging her, she just let it go because my aunt said she would pay her back since her kid was the one who fucked her over. Who would have guessed, the snobby troglodyte never paid my mom back. There were several other times she loaned money out that never got given back. I think she's probably still 70-80k in debt.)

So, If I give someone money I treat it as a gift. If they insist on saying they'll pay me back, I just tell them they can get me a drink or some food next time we hang out. Makes it much easier where I don't have to worry about shoving my chocolate starfish in someones mouth over $20.

Sort:  

i can see how going into business together could be very different for obvious reasons such as no seniority and equal motivation to succeed... That sucks about your mom though, for sure.

Yeah, I would love for her to just file bankruptcy and start over, but I doubt she ever will. I don't wanna go into that though, the whole situation is a rabbit hole of negativity.

It sucks some fat scrotum that you had so much bullshit go down with your friend though. I'm glad you at least put some space between yourself and them and have moved on in good standing. All I can say is fuck that guy and his wife and I hope they get some e-coli infections from sucking so much filthy ass.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54396.77
ETH 2275.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31