Overview of my Zero Tolerance 0808 Knife.

in #life7 years ago

Zero Tolerance brand knives have always impressed me quite a bit, and I've been fairly interested in almost all of their designs from the many I have looked at. The Zero Tolerance 0808 proved that not only do their designs look great, but they function amazingly well and are solid knives. This is a bit of a departure from some of their earlier designs that were far larger in comparison. This knife is a collaboration between Zero Tolerance and custom knife maker, Todd Rexford. The ZT 0808 comes with a fairly sized 3.25" blade that is 0.16" thick, and has an overall length of 7.625 inches. The steel for the blade is S35VN and comes with titanium handles and a backspacer. This sleek looking flipper comes in weighing just at 4.3 ounces in as well, which really isn't too bad considering the thickness of the blade and titanium handles. 

The blade shape is classified as a drop point style blade, though to me, it is very reminiscent of a wharncliffe styled blade which is probably what drew me to it since I seem to lust after them quite frequently. It runs on a KVT ball bearing pivot system for a very smooth deployment, although I have to say I feel that the IKBS system that companies like Boker and CRKT use in their knives just feels a bit smoother upon deployment. That's not to say this knife doesn't deploy smoothly though. The ZT 0808 is a frame lock flipper, and at least mine came with a very solid lock up coming in at just about 50 percent. 

The ergonomics of this knife are quite awesome, as well as the fit and finish in general. This knife is very straight forward and effective in it's design and is just comfortable to hold in the hand. All of the edges on the handled have been chamfered so everything is smooth and there are no sharp spots. There's some jimping on the finger tab to help with flipping the blade out, but besides that there is no jimping on the blade. I got mine anodized with a splatter pattern though because I quickly grow tired of plain old titanium. It was anodized using a power supply by Hippiesrock03 on Instagram. (He does some amazing work and is one hell of a guy!)One of the few features I'm not a fan of on the looks of this knife is the pocket clip. I'm not a fan of the huge ZT logo, and the pocket clip leaves a lot to be desired. I would prefer a deep carry pocket clip with no giant logo acting like a billboard. It at least is a decent clip from the factory though and doesn't feel super flimsy or cheap. 

Overall, this knife is a very well thought out and designed blade, and well worth the money at it's price point. I'm very glad that ZT decided to start making smaller, classier designed knives that don't look so plain and at times clunky, and this one lives up to any and all hype that you can find for it. Performance wise, this knife is basically flawless and shows how good ZT is at designing their knives. It just has a certain finesse to it. With the premium materials used and the awesome design it's hard to overlook this knife at the $200 price point. I would really, really recommend this knife if you're looking for a solid EDC knife, or just a classy gentleman style knife that packs a punch. 

I also decided to add my little crocheted Joker since it matches the color scheme so well with this knife, and it also gives me something to pull onto should the pocket clip ever fail thanks to the paracord lanyard. Also, for the last picture shown below, I figured I'd show a size comparison with a few other knives. The Zero Tolerance is sandwiched in between the BRS Alpha Beast 3.0 balisong, and the Boker Nano to try and show you visually how moderate sized of a knife it is. 

Thanks for taking a look at my post! If you liked what you saw feel free to follow me for future knife and gun related posts! 


Sort:  

Nice post. You're really take your time to research in to this. Nice hobby.

Impeccable review as always my friend!

"...packs a punch..."
What is the intended use for this thing?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57893.29
ETH 3130.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44