Lessons I learned from letting my son drink his juice next to my computer...

in #life6 years ago

20180814_193954.jpg


An open cup of juice, a four year old and a computer walk into my field of vision.... wait, have you already heard this one? then I guess you know how it ends. :-(



As with any tragedy there must be a silver lining, (and trust me I need that silver to pay for a new laptop.)   So, in the interest of squeezing every last drop of the silver cloud I give you The Lessons I learned from letting my son drink his juice next to my computer... 


Back that sh*t up

I should really get in to habit of backing up my data more often. I use to all the time. I even preached it to my wife who ended up backing her computer up more often than I did. At least I can say I had the smarts to back up my Steemit Passwords off line and keep a copy of other registrations in my e-mail. I think I will make it a weekly habit to back up my computer now and to e-mail myself any and all important documents. 

The Purge 

It sucks to lose a good chunk of my writing. Sucks even more to lose some photos and PDF I had saved on the deck top. But sometimes a good purge is a good thing. I am sure I had at least a GB of useless data consisting of old downloads, no longer use files and worthless clips of whatever just laying around in the nooks and cranny's of my old computer. I will try to keep the one clean and organized.

Calm is Better

I accept full responsibility for what happened. and I mean that. My wife may have been the one to place the drink next to my son as he played his games on my computer but I was aware of it and did nothing to stop it. so when liquid hit the keyboard I did not get angry at either of them. How could I? it was my fault.  I simply cleaned what I could and tried to save everything. 

The cost of computers

New laptop's are generally pretty cheap if you don't go for the top of the line models. Still, even at a relatively low cost the price of the computer I am writing on now will take it toll on our Credit card. Lesson learned to do what it takes to build up more of an emergency savings fund.

Morning meditation 

I spend most mornings either writing or on Steemit. (you tube prior to Steemit) but this morning I woke early as I normally do but instead of jumping to the key board I sipped my coffee and enjoyed the nothingness in front of me. I want to spend more mornings like that. A meditation with the morning sun instead of blind devotion to the bright white computer screen.


Well that is all I can think of right now. and in time I will download everything I use on-line and re-book mark all of my favorite websites. 






Sort:  

Congratulations @deadmoonwrites! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Thanks for Upvote my post brother

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60009.56
ETH 3342.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42