A measure of time

in #life6 years ago

clock-3179167_1920.jpg

The following words originated from another blog of mine. I made a few changes but the context and truth of the words remains the same. I am posting then here because I believe.... I hope someone else will get something out of this. I reread it myself from time to time to remind myself why I am pursuing change in my life.


I consider the quality of any given time is measured by the degree of hollowness I (or anybody) feels afterward. This may be immediate, the following day or weeks in the future.
And if I were to ask myself why or to analyze this hollowness, The simple answer points to my absence of fortitude in my writing and my over consumption of those activities that hold no intrinsic joy.

Consuming alcohol when I know it will merely reinforce my depression. Watching YouTube or Netflix in a slack-jawed trance. Searching the kitchen for the unnamed snack I missed the first eight times. The mindless trek across a mountain of Twitter posts reaching much beyond my mind’s comprehension to pay attention to. Even in the car, traveling-where ever, neglecting to seek for the purple cow (Seth Godin)

I crave the chance to contemplate self-awareness somewhere remote and detached. A small cabin tucked away in a boundless wilderness or in a tent along a remote lake among Minnesota’s thousands. But life is not that accommodating. Self-reflection must alien in tandem to every moment as it unfolds.

Still, I will continue to seek this self-awareness of mine. In the cracks between the continuous motion of an energetic toddler and full-time work. I will string together my concerns, thoughts, and desires as if creating my personal voodoo doll that will in turn, be a design for who I need to become.

Sort:  
Recent related articles
  1. Are you a time-chaser? ( 90.97 % )
  2. Enjoy your leisure time. ( 90.18 % )
  3. Introverted Mamas ( 89.50 % )
  4. Don´t Claudicate ( 89.40 % )
  5. Make time ( 89.06 % )
Older related articles
  1. Are you a time-chaser? ( 90.97 % )
  2. Enjoy your leisure time. ( 90.18 % )
  3. Introverted Mamas ( 89.50 % )
  4. Don´t Claudicate ( 89.40 % )
  5. Make time ( 89.06 % )

Interesteem(@interesteem) is a service that recommends related articles using DeepLearning.
Please write an article with #interesteem tag.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62104.41
ETH 2404.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49