You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hurtling To Hood River

in #life7 years ago

Ah, the joys of travel preparation. Why is it that when you are going out of town, 780 new projects jump up that just have to be done, before you leave. It can be a bit maddening. Is it procrastination that catches up to us, or do these things really multiply like 'to do' rodentia?
Sounds like a fun road trip. Love those things. When else do you 'have to' eat at Dairy Queen? Enjoy the wedding, hope you get to dance, and enjoy the fun trip home. Love that, "every drive by hubby is a 'mission'. " "Can we stop for a toidy break"? "Not till 16:43." Please don't tell him I said that, he was in the Army, he could easily pound me.
Also, I expect a full report as to what in the heck is in a Guardian of the Galaxy Blizzard...

Sort:  

"to do" rodentia! LOL!

We made it home. I put the giant Hawaiian Army grunt in the back and drove most of the way. He's on a Civil War reading binge, so while my son and I perused a delightful cultural mix of Spanish, Country, Classic Rock, and Top 40 radio stations; the husband languished in the back and occasionally grumbled about Jeb, Stonewall, and Lee. It was an illuminating journey.

The Guardian's of the Galaxy blizzard contained something called "brookies" mixed in the soft serve. Apparently it is the marriage of a brownie and a cookie in baked form. Upon closer visual inspection it kind of looked like a deposit that would be left in a diaper, so even though DQ tried to make the GOTG blizzard even more tempting with added caramel, I went with the Brownie Royal Blizzard instead, because hot fudge.

Apparently I am the best mom in the world because I got a room two doors down from the indoor pool and hot tub, so guess who swam for hours and hours with my progeny? This Kat! Definitely got my cardio in!

My cousin's wedding was amazing, and there as a few hundred people at the reception. Our Mexican part of the family served us street tacos and homemade tamales of various manifestations. I kinda wanted to stay there if I am honest, yum!

Since I was driving home we stopped to eat and to get fuel! If the combine derby would have been going in Lind Washington, I probably would have stopped for that too, lol!

Wow, I have rambled! Hope you had a very productive, or a least magnificently fun weekend. Or both!!!

No such thing as too much ramble. So very enjoyable and entertaining, as always.
What is a combine derby? Is that a whole bunch of farm equipment dealers getting together in one place? Sounds like fun. As did your wedding. I'm sure the food was divine. Real, homemade tamales and tacos. Nothing like it. I used to work with a guy whose mom made him a whole vest full of burritos every morning. He let me try them once, melted in my mouth. But he never shared any more of them. Yaaargg. Sounds like the entire weekend trip to Oreegon was a lot of fun. Remember those days as a tyke, staying at a motel with a pool. Swam until our little heads were full up. Then swam some more. The simple things of life. Well, I better go mail this, talk to you soon.
PS. the ice cream sounds like it looks bad, but probably is headache decadent as well ( :

LOL! Those are dangerous words, I can ramble without end sometimes!

A combine derby is like a demolition derby, but with combines. I think it sounds marvelous, and I have been driving by the sign that screams of the derby's existence for years and years. Maybe this year I'll actually go witness it!

I have never seen a vest full of burritos, but dang! The imagined visual of that image is beyond delightful! The burrito bogarter should have totally shared the wealth though, not cool.

Got to make this reply a bit shorter than normal, there is marinated London Broil to remove from the oven! Thanks as always for your replies, I do so love them!!!

( : !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56924.47
ETH 3086.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41