You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Full Moon Fever and the Need to Have a Very Big Stick

in #life5 years ago

You lead such the life of adventure. I love it. I believe you ARE a farmer, or at least and egg farmer. If nothing else, by default of chores and chasing addled chooks. And I'm glad you have a hubs to do the dirty work. We always joke about that around this farm. What good would I be, without a lawn mower, and opening jars and such. (T.I.C., of course). I know I'm good for more than that. There's fixing, then using the weedeater too ( :

You have some impressive spiders there in FLA. Those things do give even the staunchest nature lover a quick twist, when spotted first off. I think it's brainstem, from about 8 million years ago, when the goofy things weighed in at about 148 pounds and took down small (now huge, by our standard) rodents. Yikes. Though I knew a guy from South America somewhere, that swore they had spiders big enough to eat chickens. So, be glad you don't have THOSE. Whitey would be toast. (I think you need a kitty water spray bottle for her. Works great spritzing the cats, and a chicken has an even tinier brain. (is that a real word...tineir? Tiny-er, I guess.) Well, hope you have a nice weekend, and Whitey re-surfaced from the woods. I'm with hubs, survival of the fit. And hopefully Whitey fits that bill. As Darwin wrote years back, "don't write a check in the deep dark woods, you cannot cash in the morning light." Or something to that effect. It's been a long time since school... Cheers tooya

Sort:  

Ha, my life is uninteresting, but I'm glad you see some interest in it. Thank goodness for husbands that operate the weedwacker, that thing always gives me trouble. I'm sure your other half agrees.

I believe you are right, arachnophobia is hardwired in us from back in our early days - when the only mammals were some rodent-like creatures. Those were rough times. A few million years has not quite dulled the PTSD.

I have heard mumblings of monster spiders in South America too. I think that continent might not be for me.

So Whitey did survive the night. I think partly because the predators gave up on my area for the time being. No sign of trouble for the last week.

That Darwin guy. He must have left lots of excellent quotes for the ages, and all of which I have forgotten.

Well, I wouldn't go quoting THAT particular Darwinian gem at a party or anything else of special occasion. Glad Whitey made it home in one piece. Hard life, being a chicken...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61662.20
ETH 3059.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84