Should we do what make us happy?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

IMG_1041.JPG

This is my depressing view...everyday. Most of us, in America anyways, seem to find a job because it makes us good money. The problem is the majority of us were never taught the basics in managing your finances in order to make smart use of that good money. So what happens? We get stuck in a depressive daily cycle of coming to a job we hate to survive and pay off the mistakes we've made throughout our life.

Now I know what many are going to say. "At least you have a job", "But you make good money," "Well you shouldn't have been irresponsible," "Don't complain that you can get by without suffering."

The problem with these things is that most of us in this situation ARE suffering. We all suffer in different ways and just because mine is less phyically intense than yours doesn't mean I'm not suffering. So what is my story?

I have over $50k in unsecured debt because of bad choices, bad situations, and a couple emergencies and $24k in student loans. I have worked 60-75 hours a week trying to manage life in general and trying to pay off my debt. Have I made a dent in it...not really.

I make less than $50k/yr and in that goes in supporting my household and family. I just turned 30 recently and started looking back to reaccess my situation. In the past 2 years I have learned to manage my finances better and living on what I make but it was never quite enough to make a dent into my debt. Being stuck like this, in the self created endless loop, has taken such a mental toll on me that it's time for me to do something that I have been so scared to do... quit my job. I just put in my 2 weeks and will be leaving my current position on 9/8/17 or 8/9/17 for my fellow non-americans...or 17/9/8 for my other fellow non-american lol. Point is September 8th, 2017 is the final day of the life I've known for the past 8 years and the beginning of my new one.

What is my new life? I have no damn clue... That's why I'm writing this in order to give me a platform to record what I do and share it with a community that I adore because I really like the idea of steem. I'll be posting and recording on what happens and hopefully in the end, I will find out if there is a chance for us to do what makes us happy.

Thank you for reading.

DComxV1

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59073.90
ETH 2519.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48