You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dear Steemian, What is Your Opinion on Meeting Strangers from Steemit?

in #life7 years ago

In general, I prefer keeping my online relationships strictly online. Now, personally that's because I'm an introvert at heart and don't much relish the idea of meeting new people in person - sort of ever.

But I also like the way that online interactions create a sense of anonymous but unique personalization. What I mean by that is that, on a fundamental level, the people you meet and interact with over the internet, or over Steemit specifically, are mostly unknown to you - yet you interact with them enough to get to know some part of them. Since that process involves far less visual information, your brain eventually creates a unique picture of the person in your mind that is entirely your own creation. That happens even if you've seen one or two pictures of the online friend - your brain fills out the details and develops this internal conception of who they are.

It's kind of like listening to your favorite musical performer over and over again, for many years, and then seeing them perform in person - or even just on video - for the first time. Yes, you gain new insight into who the singer or performer actually is - but you also lose the companion you've spent so much timing creating, in a sense, in your own mind.

That all sounds kind of weird. I know what to do - let me inscribe it into the blockchain for all eternity!

Sort:  

Exactly whats on my mind too.I don't know about the harmful ones on steemit.In my case too am bit on the introvert side.But can put my thoughts freely while writing and go on and on.But maybe not in real life.Now how bad is that???😐

Yes almost like when you read a book and you create the picture in your mind, then you see the film and it sucks!

I met my 'favorite' actor/singer once and my whole built picture of him, shattered into a thousand little pieces, just because he was feeling ill or in bad mood and wasn't particularly nice to us that day.

Sometimes things/relationships better left online too, I agree.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 56420.74
ETH 2938.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22