You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Being visually impaired: Things I surprisingly can or can’t do.

in #life8 years ago

I enjoyed this, Kind of weird, right? I have Keratoconus. It's a degenerative disease of the cornea. In my case, the cornea is mis-shaped, and gives distorded vision similar to severe astigmatism. I can describe my night vision to you, but it does not explain how disorienting it can be. If I look at a line of streetlights for example, I see each light in an arc of infinite lights trailing of to the up and right of my plain of vision, and every light does that!

And they let me drive... HA HA!

Keep moving and looking for ways to help you clue in on people, I describe to people, "Your face is just a flesh-tone blob, walk with a limp or something!", They laugh, but some take the cue. Some folks, I can see a mile away, will others blend into the crowd. Seek out those cues and use them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59972.21
ETH 2389.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42