Lower Fort Garry At NightsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Lower Fort Garry's main purpose was as a supply depot for the Red River settlement and the surrounding Cree, Anishinaabe, Métis, and European (mostly Orkney Scot) populations. (source)

I remember going there a few times as a young child, on school field trips. Everything seemed so big, and so old. It was a blast, to run around with my young friends and explore the "ancient" technology.

Now, in my middle age, I have a sense that these things have not happened so long ago. It makes me marvel at how fast technology, and science really advances. Much of what we consider pedestrian and mundane, would possibly have seemed like witchcraft, or magic to people from the time of the fort. Time moves so fast, and yet so slow.

Anyway, on the particular night of this photograph (March 26, 2011), I was at home on the internet, as many Winnipegers are prone to be in the Winter months. I came across an aurora forecast that seemed promising, and I began to think about how best to photograph them. I have not had much luck photographing aurora. Usually when an event happens I am nowhere near my camera. I have only had two minor successes. Here and Here.

I wanted to make a meaningful, and dramatic photograph of the Northern Lights as they are also known. For this, I thought the old fort would make a fantastic foreground. I will one day try again. Anyway, I stood in the fields around the fort for hours and hours waiting for the lights to appear. The only thing that I saw was a coyote, who must have not seen me as a threat, because he strolled right past me in the pitch dark.

The fort itself is a significant drive from my house. I was disappointed in terms of the light-show, but I was determined to make my trip worth the cold effort. So I captured this photograph of the fort under the cold clear skies. Not a bad starscape. For those interested, I also used a technique called "light painting", where you use a non-ambient light source (flashlight in this case) to gently caress the scene in key locations to add detail, and drama. I think it turned out pretty decent. What do you think?

-04545 March 26, 2011-2.jpg

Sort:  

Stunning shot and very much worth getting cold for! Upped

Amazing photo! Too bad you didn't catch an aurora. Wishing you better luck next time!

Thank you very much! Yeah I am looking forward to my next attempt.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63834.78
ETH 2627.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78