Introduction to field mapping

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Hello fellow steemians,
As I said in my introduction,i am a geologist. So I would like to introduce you to an important aspect of geology called geological field mapping.

What is geological field mapping?
Geological field mapping is the process of selecting an area of interest and studying all the geological information about that particular area. This helps to identify the rock type and valuable minerals and structures in that geosphere. The amount of detail on the map depends on the area covered.
Geological maps have become more accurate due to the use of gps(global positioning system) and satellite imagery.

images[1][3].jpg
A geological map of Nigeria

Reasons for geological mapping

  1. It helps to determine the present natural resources.
  2. It helps for better utilization of resources.
  3. It helps to understand processes of nature.

Geological mapping for a geologist is both easy and stressful because it places a demand on both your strength and stamina. It is also dependent on the training garneered over the years. Geological mapping is beautiful in the sense that it helps to know.

Tools used in geological mapping?.

  1. Geological hammer:it is used for breaking rocks.
    p27_0.jpg

2.Global positional system: helps to identify your coordinates.

garmin-gps-250x250.png
Image credit: dir.indiamart.com

  1. Field note.
    20180209035242.jpg
    Image credit:

4.compass clinometer: it is used to measure strike and dip and also show joint orientation.

images[1].jpg

  1. Maps
    6.measuring tape.
    images[1][1].jpg

  2. Field boots.
    images[1][2].jpg

Parameter to consider when mapping is the geology of the area and the geological structures present.

Conclusions.
1.proper planning is needed for geological mapping robbed Carried out.

  1. Work should be detailed and done meticulously.
  2. There is need for teamwork.

I have introduced you to a part of my world. I hope you have been able to learn a thing or two about geology.
Anticipate my post about my experience during mapping.

Feel free to correct me on any errors.
Davidmmd.

Sort:  

Your post has been personally reviewed and was considered to be a well written article about geology!
You received a 10.0% upvote since you are not yet a member of geopolis.
To read more about us and what we do, click here.
https://steemit.com/geopolis/@geopolis/geopolis-the-community-for-global-sciences-update-3
If you do not want us to upvote and comment on your posts concerning earth and earth sciences, please reply stop to this comment and we will no longer bother you with our love ❤️

Thank you very much, I deeply appreciate

I deeply appreciate. Looking forward to collaborating with this group.

We had a geologist last month at Science Cafe. https://www.facebook.com/events/164668427400137/

Do you work for the government, like our speaker, or a university, or for a corporation, like an oil or mining company?

Thanks for your comment. I am a student in my penultimate year who has a passion for geology.
My joy is letting the world know about the benefits of geology. I would like to work In an oil company when I am done with my study.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59238.58
ETH 3176.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45