You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: These Tips from Great Writers Will Make You a Writing Boss! by Dirk Hooper

in #life7 years ago

Thank you fro sharing this. I can't tell you how many time I want to write but my mind kills the thoughts. Why, because I have dyslexia and that has alway hindered my writing. It sometimes leaves me empty​ with thoughts.

One thing​ I have learned is that there are many writers that have dyslexia and have succeeded. I really work on keeping that in my mind when I venture to write a story.

I am very creative when it comes to story ideas, it's a confidence thing I guess.

Anyway, ​I will resteem this and follow you. Thanks again.

Sort:  

Writing is tough enough without dyslexia. However, here's a short list of accomplished writers who deal with that and still rise above.

Pulitzer Prize winning novelist (Independence Day) Richard Ford;

Best-selling novelist (The World According to Garp, A Prayer for Owen Meany) and Academy Award winning screenwriter (The Cider House Rules) John Irving;

Two-time Academy Award winning screenwriter (Kramer v. Kramer, Places in the Heart) Robert Benton;

Best-selling thriller writer Vince Flynn, whose novels have sold over 15 million copies in the last decade;

Best-selling mystery writer, screenwriter (Prime Suspect), and Edgar Award winner Lynda La Plante;

Best-selling novelist Sherrilyn Kenyon (who also writes under the name Kinley MacGregor), whose novels have sold over 30 million copies.

Confidence comes with writing more. Hang in there.

And thank you very much for the ReSteem! That helps so much.

Following you!

Thank you so much. And yes I have been working on the confidence and just write what I feel like writing. Over time I believe I will get better. At least that is what others have said about my writing over the years.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58754.61
ETH 2507.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47