Canyon Creek Lakes Trail, Trinity Alps California

in #life6 years ago

Sometimes You Just Need To Get Out

We spend our days locked in rooms shut off from the sun, diddling online wasting away on Netflix and I must admit an also known fact that I too have been known to be guilty of this. In fact, I have been guilty of this on too many occasion, and that is why I have vowed to myself of course, that I shall get back into backpacking after I went on this AMAZING hiking trip along the Canyon Creek Lakes Trail, which is located in the Trinity Alps of Northern California.

The Begining

We started a little late around 11:00 A.M. stead of the 9 A.M. meet up time, Misha and I had originally planned for, due to the fact I had some morning chores to finish and I hadn't eaten yet. It had been a while since I have actually done any real hiking so I wanted to get some food in my stomach. We stopped at Corner Mart home of Papa Dog https://www.yelp.com/biz/corner-mart-weaverville. I had a wonderful breakfast sandwich which I ate in route to the trailhead.

This trip was my first meeting with my new friend Misha the Reiki Practitioner. We arrived at the trailhead around 11:45 A.M. which is a little late for a hike but I really needed off the farm. The photo below is me as we had just arrived at the parking lot/trailhead.

David at the start

The trail begins slightly above the parking area, lush green Coniferous Forest surround you from all sides, enveloping you in Pure Nature. We walked for around five minutes and then I heard some water. We rounded a corner and to my behold was a beautiful year-round creek ( pictured below ) and I immediately fell in love with the area.

nice waterfall

I really didn't know what to expect on this hike, in fact, I had met Misha online and was really just open to meeting a new friend in the area and hitting a trail. Misha ( below ) is seen walking across a natural wooden bridge ( fallen log ) to get to the other side of the trail.

walking across

Alpine Meadows Above

beautiful view

HOLY COW! I exclaimed, as I looked to my left after 30 wonderful minutes of hiking. I honestly didn't realize there was a peak, with alpine meadows just to the side of me. The terrain really opened up, and these views weren't just awsome they were epic, or even better awesomely epic.
Due to the late start, we knew we wouldn't make it to the alpine lakes further up the trail but we did stumble on a waterfall with a deep pool. This is where we decided to stop and spend the majority of time left.

Misha ( below ) is standing on a huge boulder that is submerged under the crystal blue glacier water. I jumped into the water and it was freezing, I couldn't help not jumping in a few times more.

misha at pool

I will definitely go on this hike again, though next time I will go all the way to the lakes. On our hike, we had passed a couple groups of backpackers on they're way back from the lakes above. One of that ladies in the group mentioned a bear across the smaller body of water. I honestly regret not starting earlier in the day, as those lakes must be beautiful.

I have left the link to the All Trails site below which includes everything you need to know about getting to this destination.

https://www.alltrails.com/trail/us/california/canyon-creek-lakes-trail

I hope everyone enjoyed these photo's as much as I enjoyed taking them.

funky dave

Sort:  

Your post had been curated by the @buildawhale team and mentioned here:

https://steemit.com/curation/@buildawhale/buildawhale-curation-digest-11-01-18

Keep up the good work and original content, everyone appreciates it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60589.35
ETH 2628.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53