Jealous/envious and even resenting others' success...

in #life7 years ago

601f86b48115af9767011e0f9da8e1e3.jpg

What's up guys?

It's been a while since my last post and I wanted to share something that came up for me lately and I realised as something that is quite likely to be holding me back from achieving the success that I am after.

That thing is being jealous of others' success.

I didn't feel jealous but I know there is something wrong.

I am surrounded by successful people in this facebook group I am a member of and whenever I would see people posting up their big wins, whilst I would write a nice comment, I could tell that deep down I found learning of their success made me feel worse about myself as my business isn't really going the way I want it to write now. There are actually a few different reasons for this, but I think about past instances where someone shared some news they were excited about and I could just tell that I wasn't genuinely happy for them.

So I began doing some reflecting..

What was the reason I felt this way?

Why couldn't I just be happy for them, happy with where I was at and concentrate on my journey, without comparing myself to others?

Perhaps it has to do with the fact that I failed A LOT in school...

So I began to take steps to fix this.

Every night before bed and every morning as soon as I wake, I fill up a whole page with this sentence

"I feel so happy and inspired when I learn of others' success"

After I have written out the entire page, I then recite it to myself 3 times for every line, for a total of just over 100 times.

Then any spare moment I get at work I am continually reciting this to myself. I must have recited it nearly 1000 times today.

I have only been doing this for 2 days, but something magical happened at work today.

I jumped on facebook and saw some fantastic news of a guy I recently connected with who had his first child.

As soon as I saw that news, I jumped at the chance to congratulate him and this warm feeling flooded my chest.

I was then in the best mood for a good while afterwards.

I am going to keep reciting this to myself so it is embedded deep in my subconscious .

If you have something that could perhaps be holding you back, think of a positive affirmation you could recite to yourself daily. This stuff really works. They say it can take between 26 and 266 days to change.

I am not going to stop reprogramming my mind.

Take care

David

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10