NEVER GIVE UP!

in #life7 years ago

A personal message... Three years back I hit a major bout of depression that literally immobilized myself. And I had come to the conclusion of GIVEN-UP. And I want to share that there may be times when oneself feels the same way and I want to assure you that these feeling and emotions will pass. I want to share a few simple things I did that help bring SPIRIT back into my life.

  1. Reached out to different people that I had not acquainted and listened to them (their needs)...
  2. Walk, Walk, Walk, Walk, Walk, Walk, Walk, Walk, Walk, Walk (averaged between 6 – 10 miles a day)
  3. And then it happened – almost like magic - My attitude changed and the depression completely lifted, after 4.5 months of walking every day– I was amazed how good and grounded I now felt (this is the Key – One must change attitude)

I found out afterwards that there is medical evidence that has proven that walking can cure ailments of anxiety and depression and further that some medical professionals claim it may be the ONLY way of beating this devastating affliction. I have to concur. I've been fighting depression since the age of 22 and tried many options. So to all – WALK IT OUT. Oh yah – do it outside, choosing different routes - @#$% the treadmills, enjoys the divine beauty of this beautiful Earth.

And today, Yes – sometimes I get the blues or am down, so I go for walks and sometimes play this inspirational video loud to change thoughts and remind myself of who I am. And I believe the key to keeping depression from mentally slowly creeping back is the strong belief of One's new Attitude.

Sort:  

Congratulations @davidcarella! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @davidcarella! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 58630.84
ETH 2465.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38