To Get Direction 5.28.2022

in #life2 years ago (edited)

compass-7206886_960_720.jpg

A compass can give you a direction, as the compass can let you know north, south, east and west. Like if you were in central California and you wanted to get to Oregon, you would head north and if you were in central California but needed to get to San Diego, then you would head south.

The thing is where do you want to go? What if someone has a hard time with money? If one had no savings and if a thousand dollar emergency happens to come up, then what?

Well, does one have to be in that situation forever? No, but one must have some kind of guidance. What if one didn't have the discipline to save? Then one must seek guidance of what to do.

One thing is to look at the things that are being bought, that doesn't really add to ones life. There was a time when I was at work and they lead everyone into the break room and let everyone know that the office was to eventually close.

Wow, we found out that we could retire early if we qualified, or transfer to another office that was some distance away.

I decided to take retirement as they were offering a 30% bonus for retiring and I took it. Yet, the thing about retirement is that I would not make the same amount of money as when I was working.

I learned something from a book called, Richest Man In Babylon by George S Clason. There is a story in that book called, Remedies For A Lean Purse. One of the Remedies was to save at lease 10 percent of what one makes. Many asked how could one save 10 percent when by the end of the month there is nothing to save.

The trick is to put away the 10 percent before you pay any bills or buy something. Like say if you normally make a thousand dollars a month, live as though you only made nine hundred dollars a month and put that 10 percent away.

One must find ways to save and to beat inflation. Well, if one usually goes out a lot, then just don't go out and you save a lot of money. Some people put a lot of money in to cable TV, but what if one would just cut out the cable TV?

Somethings I had billed to my credit card every month, for some kind of club or subscription. I would just go through my credit card bills and tell my self if it is not bread and water, then I cut it out.

So I started to cut out a lot of things. I even called my insurance to lower monthly payments by accepting a larger deductible.

There are ways to save money, it is not easy and one would have to discipline oneself to do that. Now I do have savings and can handle a situation of a thousand dollar emergency and I have done that several times.

Now let's change the subject a little, what if one is caught up in the hook up culture, of course that is not fulfilling and leads to heartache. The Bible and it's scriptures can give direction of how to handle such a situation.

You see the scriptures let us know that we are not to fornicate. The scriptures also say that if we don't believe in Jesus, we are already damned. Well, Jesus did come and sacrifice himself to save us from our sins, so if we accept Jesus and do the will of the Father we can be saved and that will even help us to not fornicate.

You know when the woman that was caught in the act of adultery and they wanted to stone her, Jesus said to them, He that has not sinned be the first to throw a stone at her, then they all dropped their stones from eldest to youngest as they all sinned, then Jesus asked the woman, where are those thine accusers? Hath no man condemned thee? She said, No man Lord. Then Jesus said, Neither do I condemned thee, go and sin no more.

You see when we appear before Jesus while we are still alive, Jesus tells us to go and sin no more. Jesus also said in scripture, Follow me. He also said, If you love me, keep my commandments.

Let's go to a writing of David, as it is written, But his delight in the law of the LORD; and in his law doth he meditate day and night. Psalm 1:2.

So the scriptures will give us direction. This reminds me of another scripture, as it is written, Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it. Proverbs 22:6.

Let's end with a scripture, I have more understanding than all my teachers: for thy testimonies my meditation. Psalm 119:99.

If you enjoyed this blog, please upvote and follow.
Thank you, David.
Image is from pixabay.com.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85