Sometimes You I Just Have To Mow The Lawn In The Rain

in #life6 years ago

IMG_20181121_145547570.jpg

This is my mom's front yard. Since I have to mow the lawn before our Thanksgiving gathering I just have this day to do it. I did hear that the rain may come. I actually like the rain.

The last time I remember rain here was October 3, 2018. So it is good to see the rain again. I told my mom that I would mow the lawn even in the rain, if I have to.

Well, when I started to mow the lawn it was just sprinkling water. As I kept on going, then there was more water. It was OK, I was wearing 2 jackets with a hood on one of them. So I just put the hood on and kept on mowing.

My mowing machine has gone through worse. Yes, that is my 40 year old lawn mower, and yes, it is still hanging in there. Rain water does not seem to phase it. Though some mud had been collecting on a couple of its rear wheels.

One good thing about mowing the lawn in the rain is that there is less dust. I actually like to water down the lawn, just to reduce the amount of dust.

Even a 40 year old lawn mower can blow a lot of dust. So watering down the lawn a bit does help. Nobody wants to be breathing in dust.

So, I did get to finish mowing the front and back lawns.

As I was tying up my lawn mower into my pickup, then it started to rain pretty heavy. Well, I'm glad I didn't get into the thick of it, when I was mowing.

I when back into mom's house to set up some tables and plug in the extra refrigerator. You know an extra refrigerator on standby can be a real help.

Yes, mom has another refrigerator that she mostly uses to store stuff in, but during a holiday it does come in handy as all the room in the main refrigerator is being used up.

So then, during times like these we just plug it in and now mom has a second working refrigerator which is put to good use in such a time as Thanksgiving.

So as I write at my own home, I do have a fire going. When it rains I always get a fire going. I will have to get to moms early on Thanksgiving day to bring my 3 folding chairs.

We always need extra chairs.

If you enjoyed this blog, please upvote and follow.
Thank you, David.
Image is mine, taken with my Moto G.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64060.29
ETH 3471.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52